Seeing Past the Ugly and Aggressive Dog

This is an example of what I call the innate ability to connect with an animal and the wisdom to feel there are fine qualities hiding underneath an ugly and hostile dog.

Individuals who are attuned to and who possess an affinity for dogs, cats, horses, etc. are able to see past an animal’s ugliness and most times defensive aggressive behavior. Dogs and cats use the only defense they know to defend themselves against further abuse. That is the out of control and aggressive behavior that is often displayed when put in a shelter situation or when forced into a corner when fending for themselves out on the streets in a very cruel world.

Next time you are looking for a new pet: dog or cat, please visit a kill shelter and save a life. You will be the recipient of a pet that will become absolutely wonderful and one that will be forever grateful.

Please watch this video It is a gut wrencher.

Hagar has posted numerous videos of rescues and an animal’s recovery on You Tube with photographs on Flickr. Several organizations work with Eldad and Audrey Hagar. A prominent one is Bill Foundation. There are others as well which I’ll add to this post later.

Tagged , , , , , ,

90 thoughts on “Seeing Past the Ugly and Aggressive Dog

  1. Dogs are just innocent children with four legs instead of two. Heartbreaking to see a dog react in fear to a human.

  2. Hey Yvonne, you haven’t posted in a while so hope you and your animals are all ok and just busy. Just wanted to give you a quick shout to say you are missed.

  3. chatou11 says:

    Thank you so much Yvonne, I did not know about this novel and film, I am glad you explained the story to me. As you said may be it’s my spider.. lol

  4. Hello. I’ve been expecting you for quite some time.
    Here, come sit beside us for awhile .
    and let me tell you about this old friend of mine.
    She might look tattered or maybe old
    But I won’t say goodbye until you’ve been told.
    She had the brightest eyes I had ever seen,
    And wore a beautiful fur coat that would out shine a queen .
    She was never prissy but walked with an aire ……
    And oh so polite, you could take her most anywhere.
    She could run like the wind and could catch anything she chased
    But she protected and sat with me when I had problems to face.
    You could not find a friend nearly so dear.
    Because no matter the trouble she always stayed near…
    She has never asked for much from me;
    Just to love and respect her and I think you’ll agree .
    To give her a good meal plus a nice warm bed is not much to ask ;
    When she has given me all her love and to her this was no task.
    Now I understand you have a schedule to keep.
    But I have a small favor before she nods off to sleep.
    Please fold your wings around her and let her feel young while in no pain ;
    Dear Guardian Angel of Pets ,
    please keep her safe and happy until I see her again.

    Ginger Patton

  5. What a wonderful story, Yvonne. Rescuing animals is such an important practice when looking for a pet…well in all cases but when we wish to add a pet to our lives a rescued animal is such a blessing.
    The little lick of the arm and tail twitch was very telling in watching Edie. The thought that she might have been euthanized is just so upsetting. We will be forever grateful to Bones (Beagles of New England States) for rescuing beagles and most particularly Murphy. He was a terrified little guy when we met him and had some of the same traits as Edie but once we got past those he has been the most wonderful of companions for us. He still does not trust others for the terrible treatment he had when younger, but we have his trust completely and do all we can to deserve it.
    I will look for these wonderful folks on FB. Thanks, Yvonne.

    On a side note, I somehow missed this post. I was worried I wasn’t receiving notifications from WP but see that you have not posted in a while and I am still logged to get notices. I hope that the absence of new postings is caused by you being busy with all your responsibilities and not some other issue.

    • Steve,my long reply to you “flew away.” Makes me mad. I will address the rescued beagles in another reply. Just wanted to let you know that I appreciate you taking the time to view and comment in such a wondeful manner. I’ll send you another comment later today. Briefly I think you and Mary Beth are very kind hearted individuals for lots of people will not adopt an abused animal for all sorts of reasons.

      I was extremly ill since February and getting sicker and sicker but somehow I pushed myself to post a bit here and there. (I am getting some better since mold issue in ac units is mostly fixed)I managed to comment on my favorite blog sites. I stopped commenting on some favorite sites since my comments were less than stellar. I’ve had to drop some blogs- just no time to read and comment.

      I appreciate each and every person that comments here and I’ll always respond to everyone that leaves a comment. You and Ms.Gib of roughseasinthemed are top commenters on this blog.

      I am truly grateful for your support and especially your warm and kind comments.

      • I am sorry that your replies sometimes disappear, Yvonne. I am pretty sure I remember that happening to you on Andrew’s and Lottie’s blogs also.

        That is an awfully long time to be ill and I do hope that the mold issue is under control. Sometimes the smallest things can cause the biggest problems and are the hardest to detect. A/C has to be mandatory in Texas….we couldn’t get along without it here in Massachusetts.

        I appreciate that you take the time to comment on my blog and were you to stop you certainly would be missed. I am tied with roughseasinthemed as a top commenter? Every time I see your blog it is populated by so many folks it is hard to believe I am at the top. Obviously many people appreciate your love of animals and the information you share. You have a large and generous heart.

  6. gita4elamats says:

    Thank God for the rescuers. (q◕‿◕q)

  7. chatou11 says:

    Nice week to you Yvonne and thanks for your comment.

  8. Beautiful video!!! Thanks for sharing!!! So cute!!!

  9. Unfortunately, my internet connection is not allowing me to watch videos at the moment but I agree that most of the aggression situations are formed out of fear. My dog, Litchi, was supposedly a people aggressive dog, who I know take into schools to teach children about dog body language.

    • Thanks for the great comment about your dog that you rescued. Isn’t it wonderful how a dog responds to love and understanding? Kindness and love work wonders with animals as well as people. Taking your dog to schools to teach dog body language is such a good thing.

  10. frizztext says:

    β€œWe can judge the heart of a man
    by his treatment of animals.”
    – Immanuel KANT

  11. chatou11 says:

    I wish you a very nice week end Yvonne. I enjoyed to watch the video again.. patience and love do the best.
    regards

    • Chantal, thank you for writing that you watched the video again. I too have watched it about 4 times now and that little dog tugs at my heart strings. And Mr Hagar is truly an unusual person as is his wife. Other rescue 501 C3 organizations mostly foster the dogs that he personally rescues now. I read somewhere that he is going to school to become a veterinarian. But I don’t know if that is so or not.

      Regards,
      ~yvonne~

  12. chatou11 says:

    Thanks for your comment, you always tell me so lovely compliments.. I wish you a nice week
    Best regards
    chatou

    • Chatou, it is quite easy to leave a nice comment because your photos are always so good and pleasing to my eyes. I always look forward to seeing what your next photo posting.

      Best regards,
      Yvonne

  13. Kathy says:

    This is very timely and touching. Both of our kids–independently, living across the country from one another–adopted kittens this week. Our son and his wife adopted one that had been caught in a trap. She is very cautious and doesn’t want to come out of her box much yet. They are showering lots of love on her.

    • Thanks Kathy for telling me about your son and dil and your daughter each adopting a kitten. That has made my day/night. Those kittens will be so much entertainment and be showered with lots of love and vice versa. I’ve seldom had a kitten. Most of my cats either came here to live after a life as a stay on the street or they were feral cats that I trapped. However, I have hand raised 6 kittens that are my babies and they see me as their mother. Of course I’m sure that is something that I want to believe. πŸ™‚

      About your son’s kitten. It won’t take long before the kitten becomes friendly and responds to their kindness and love for her. Make sure that they take pics of the kitten. Your daughter should as well. Your first grand fur babies. Wonderful. πŸ™‚

      • Kathy says:

        They’ve sent lots of pictures already. And we’ve been telling people we’re grandparents. πŸ™‚

        • Aaah too cute. Grand fur babies! I can just see you smiling at the pictures.

          I refer to myself as grandma for my daughter’s pets and she signs cards to me as grandma. I suppose we are nuts but when a child does not have children and never will then the pets are the substitutes. πŸ™‚

  14. I love the idea of saving an animal’s life — our cat adopted us and is now king of the house

  15. frizztext says:

    “Dogs and cats use the only defense they know to defend themselves against further abuse…” – I would do the same, if in their situation …

  16. I was so pleased to read this post this morning Yvonne. I know you wrote it a few days ago but horrid WordPress hadn’t told me you had posted, so I thought I had better mosey on over (practising my Americanese) to see if you had posted.

    Anyway, the reason it was so timely, was because I had a sad exchange with a friend on the tinternet last night. He is a nice man, and I like him. His bought pedigree dog died last year and he is considering another bought pedigree puppy. He reads my blogs, he knows about all my wonderful rescue dogs that I have had, and I haven’t influenced him one tiny bit, I am so sad about that. If I could get one pedigree puppy buyer to go to a rescue home, I would think I had achieved something. Even my parents finally got a rescue dog after three pedigrees.

    People can’t claim ignorance. It’s not enough just giving money to rescues to help them. The most important thing is giving a dog a home. Of course it didn’t help that I had been looking at a local Spanish rescue site as we are thinking about a companion for Pippa. Ideally we would like a stray off the street like him, because you know they are seriously desperate and it’s nice when it happens like that because you know it is meant to be.

    I’m beginning to think I should only mix with people who home rescue animals, and preferably are vegetarian!!

    • Thanks, Ms. Gib, so much for the excellent comments. I am going to return to both comments but it might be tonight before I get back to you. I MUST get Revolution on the rest of the cats today. NO one to help me. But I do have a helper that does the cleaning but he is not good at handling animals even after 15 years or more. Revolution is flea, ear mites- heart worm prevention. It is topical and I hate putting it on the animals but here, fleas are generally an on-going problem.

      Regards,
      yvonne

      • Our animals always take priority πŸ™‚ and so they should. They are not there for our entertainment or our pleasure, it is up to us to be responsible and help them have a good life. Oh dear, I sound like teacher. But anyway, thats what I think.

        Fleas are such a pain – literally when they start biting around the ankles, goodness knows how our animals feel. I don’t like topical treatments but needs must in a country environment. I try and limit treatment to spring and autumn which is when fleas, ticks and mosquitoes (leishmaniasis) are most active, because I’m aware of the other health risks. Pippa currently has a tick collar that seems to be working OK ish. Come summer it will get too hot for all the nasty bichos.

        In fact, even in Gib where we are in a city environment, we still need to use tick prevention. People cross the border (as we do) from Spain and live in the country. We have a lot of greenery. We have botanical gardens – dogs not allowed but there is a wildlife sanctuary (illegal animals impounded by customs) and of course we have our famous monkeys. Plenty of scope for fleas and ticks.

        I could write about this for ever and a day and night so I will shut up and hope your treatment session went smoothly.

        • Thanks for commenting. I did not finish applying Revolution but worked till almost dark down in the “little house.” I need to do some heavy cleaning in there since my helper has not ben doing a really good job. It is clean but I am sure there are flea eggs on the overhead shelves where the cats sleep.

          I was busy getting all sorts of things done here in the house and also teaching a new errand runner what to do, etc. I only use an errand person when I get behind. And I am behind for sure. Three months of feeling sicker that a junk yard dog was bad for my animals. They did not get the attention needed soon enough.

          I am better and today was my best day. I am slowly getting stronger. I might write a post of what was making me so ill. But probably not. BP med, food allergy and, mold appear to have been the cause.

          Take care. Yvonne

  17. Hi Yvonne, managed to finally catch up with both videos. It’s amazing what a little bit of TLC can do…

  18. chatou11 says:

    You right Yvonne so many dogs and cats are abandoned or are waiting for eutanasia..
    I never bought a dog or a cat, I always adopted them from kill shelters. Edie looks like my Pilou… love and patience that is what pets need.
    Thanks for this vidΓ©o and this was a great post as usual!

    • Chatou, thank you for viewing and commenting. I am so glad that you adopt from a kill shelter. Little Pilou, is he/she a Maltese or a cross of something similiar? And is Piliou one that you have posted a pic of. I know that one went to doggie heaven in January or February but can’t remember if you had written about the name of your little dog in the pics.

      You are correct when handling just about any situation. Love and patiece is a requirement that works wonders.

      • Mimi says:

        I currently have 3 shelter/rescue dogs. One was age 4 and one was age 6 when adopted. I can’t imagine getting a dog or cat any other way. I also recommend the older dogs because they are less likely to be adopted.

        • Hello Mimi. Thank you for viewing and commenting. I appreciate that you have taken the time to write about your shelter/rescue dogs. They really are the best, aren’t they? I am sure your dogs are the light of your eyes and two highlights of your life. πŸ™‚

          Regards,
          ~yvonne~

      • chatou11 says:

        Little Pilou is a cross of a Caniche and something else.. He is 12 years old.. I hope he will stay with me for long.. Yes I have poste a picture of him on my blog and you will see some more!
        nice week to you Yvonne

  19. Littlesundog says:

    This was a wonderful post, Yvonne! We have three rescue dogs, and realize the importance of loving discarded animals. This can be equated to humans as well. Some of the people I call friends, are people who have been hurt and deeply wounded in life. The touch of loving hands and expressions of caring and love in communication is the healing balm needed to restore faith sometimes. Edie quickly responded to love and caring… wouldn’t it be wonderful if this could be the situation for all animals and humans? Love is the answer, eh?

    • Thanks “Little Sun, for viewing and commenting. I agree with you in all that you have written. Caring and love goes a very long way. I’ve never seen caring and love ever have a negative effect. Same for the healing touch for an ill person or an animal. I’m so glad that your dogs are all rescues.

  20. shoreacres says:

    One thing that crosses my mind is that so many of the lessons learned about how to help such animals apply with people, too. There’s a whole lot of ugliness and aggression out there in the world – maybe the animal rescuers have lessons to teach us about how to deal with one another, too!

    • Thanks for commenting Linda. I apprecaite you very much. Yes, tis so. If only love could find a way into the hearts of those individuals that are filled with so much hate. They need to be in a rehab place where they must care for an abused animal and then see what kind of transformation occurs with a formerly abused and neglected dog that has been given to the kids or the prisoner to rehab.

  21. A wonderful story, Yvonne. Thank you for sharing–these folks are angels on earth, no doubt about it. Thank you, too, for following my blog–I really appreciate it. Lori

    • Lori, thanks for visiting and commenting. Yes. the husband and wife team of Eldad and Audrey Hagar is truly an exceptional one . We need many more people like them. They are passionate about animal rescue and welfare. I greatly admire their work.

  22. Andrew says:

    Terrific Yvonne. I have just posted a link to this on my Facebook page. What a tear-jerker.

    • Andrew that is great for the post to go on your Facebook page. I am sure tha he will appreciate your gesture a lot.Hopefully it will generate more interest and support for him without needing to worry about where the next penny is coming from. I wish that I could say that I know him in person but I am several thousand miles away from California.

  23. penpusherpen says:

    A wonderful post Yvonne, Edie as you so rightly say, was scared, and in need of a lot of love and attention. Eldad Hagar is doing marvelous work. hopefully the money will always be there to let him continue rescuing animals in need. xPenx

    • Thank you Penny for viewing and commenting. I hope as well that Eldad will always have adequaate access to generous donations that are needed to continmue with his truly humane endeavors. A truly remarkable man.

  24. We have a rescued dog. Maggie was left tied to a stake in the Kansas July heat with two Cool Whip bowls, one for water, one for food, both empty when she was found. She’s been a special member of our family for 10 years now, so I loved your happy ending story.

    • Thanks so much for viewing and commenting, Marylin. I am sure that little Maggie has probabluy been one of the very best pets that you’ve owned. Personally, I believe that rescues seem to be eternaly grateful.

  25. sybil says:

    Another wonderful story with a happy ending. Bless him for his marvellous work.

  26. Lottie Nevin says:

    I’m so glad that this story had a happy ending. Over the years I’ve given a home to 3 rescue dogs. One of them was in a very bad way and was about to be put down. The shelter rang me and said ‘we have this dog, he’s about to be destroyed, do you want him? If you do we will help you with the veterinary bills etc’ – He was in the most pitiful state. A tumour the size of an egg on his belly, covered with sarcoptic mange and very underweight. 3 months later he was back on form and looking good. The sweetest most loving dog I have ever kept. Makes me teary thinking about him and all the others who have to go through such hell.

    • Lottie, that is so wonderful that you have given a home to three dogs in need. I am sure that one special dog returned his love for you and thought that you “hung the moon.” That dog will always have a very special place in your heart. The pets that are rescued seem to be the best ones for they are grateful.

  27. I just sent my daughter a comic: A man, in his comfortable chair, says “I wonder what it feels like to win the lottery”. The dog, laying on a pillow at his side, thinks “probably the same as being rescued from an animal shelter.”
    The pit/boxer mix that I have was a dog she rescued from the side of the road. She just recently took in a another dog. In photos, it looks like it had been through a buzz saw, In fact, when animal control found it, it’s harness was embedded in it’s flesh, and needed to be surgically removed. Still, the dog was scheduled to be euthanized the next day, as it was a small shelter with limited resources. My daughter said after the hell it had lived with, then rescue, then surgery, she wasn’t going to have it end on that note. She planned to foster it until a home was found, but it quickly became a part of their family.
    This is a good, important post, Yvonne, thanks!

    • Thank you, Cindy for your story about the dog that had been found by your daughter. I believe she is much like you with a very soft heart. I’ve always believed that a rescued dog or cat makes the very best pet almost withour exception. I am glad that you now call this wonderful dog your pet. And a huge round of applause for your daughter for giving the massively abused dog a home.That dog will be forever in her debt and I’m sure that at this time it is proving to be extremely grateful for the love that your daughter has shown for her new pet.

      By the way, which daugher is the animal lover?

      • Both! Kate was never very patient with their foibles, and I didn’t think she’d ever want pets, but she has (I think) five dogs at this time. What she has always been is the champion of the underdog, so if they’ve had it rough, Kate is on top of it.
        At this time Jen is sharing a home, so can’t indulge her love of animals as she’d like. She is down to one beagle and two cats (one with only one ear). Rosa Parks was one of Kate’s puppies that Jen adopted, and then couldn’t keep. So, I have Clover Sue that started as Kate’s, and now also Rosa Parks from Jen. That’s enough for me!

        • Well you’ve got two good dogs. Every woman deserves two good dogs in their life time.:-) Well not exacty, more if you can afford them. πŸ™‚ Glad your daughter’s love dogs. Thanks for the reply Cindy. I enjoyed reading about your children.

  28. Yvonne, this is a very touching and beautiful post.

  29. artscottnet says:

    So good to see shelter rescue/adoption advocated. Poor edie, is heartbreaking to see this video, so terrified at first. Every pet I’ve had has been from a shelter or rescued from the street. If I could afford it, I’d have several dogs and cats 😐 I’ll have to check out the book as well.

    • Thank you for reading, viewing and, commenting, SCott. I am going to order a used book of “Our Life Has gone To The Dogs.” It is way cheaper to obtain used. All my dogs were found dogs or shelter dogs, the same as yours. πŸ™‚

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

