Billy Bob -The Goat (Repost for Lottie) Original Post: 8/25,2011

Billy Bob, "You wanna fight? I've got horns and I WILL hurt ya!"

Billy Bob, “You wanna fight? I’ve got horns and I WILL hurt you!”

Billy Bob loving his bath

Change of pace from the cats and dogs. This is a repost from August 25,2011. Billy Bob is still doing okay as of today. He is now about 12 years old. I don’t remember what year I rescued him from becoming cabrito. He was maybe 5 months old at the time.

Brandi giving Billy Bob a bath .   The following is a post dated August,2011 about Billy Bob my goat, so understand that this is not a recent happening.

August, 2011
This past week has been rough for out pet goat. I noticed he was limping on his right front foot and when I examined his foot I found that the pad of his hoof was tender and swollen. From the large animal vet in our town I obtained a huge syringe of an antibiotic which I injected into the deep muscle tissue of his neck. The veterinarian’s instruction was, “wait a couple of days and see if the injection makes any difference.” Two days passed and by Thursday of last week his limp was the same if not worse. I then managed to wrangle our son and two of our welders to load Billy Bob into a large wire crate that was roomy and secure. The large animal vet was across town but Billy Bob made the trip without undue stress. Dr. J. gave Billy (2) antibiotic injections, an oral dewormer and then scraped around his  infected hoof  which allowed the “crud” to drain which helped reduce the swelling and infection. After our goat arrived back home, I moved him to the back yard where I was able to observe him more closely as well as soak the hoof in a solution of iodine mixed in water.  I needed help to keep his foot in the bucket of antibiotic solution. It was quite a circus of three people holding a goat that had one foot in a red bucket as he munched on carrots. We could only keep his foot in the bucket for about 3-4 minutes but I was satisfied that at least the foot was cleaned and soaked at the same time. As of Wednesday, Billy Bob was limping slightly. He has been quite pampered  with carrots, apples, alfalfa hay and goat pellets. He now shuns his costal bermuda grass hay. Billy Bob actually became spoiled in one day.I am happy to say that he appears much improved and seems to have gained a few pounds. He lost weight from being ill. The foot may have been infected for several weeks before I noticed that he was limping. Last Monday my part time helper for special projects, Brandi, gave him a great bath.Of special note here, Brandi is not afraid of any animal whether she is working with a wayward dog, semi-feral cat, or a goat. She is much more talented than I when working with animals.

Update: May 18,2013. Billy Bob continues to be spoiled and would hurt me if he could. He is special none the less to me and he will have a home with me for as long as he lives. Presently he is probably about 12 years old but I am just not sure of the year that I saved him from being barbecued. Gee I hate the word barbecue!

Photographs and post by ~ yvonne~

Tagged , , , , ,

40 thoughts on “Billy Bob -The Goat (Repost for Lottie) Original Post: 8/25,2011

  1. I hope BillyBob is still doing well. Love to read about your animals.

    • Thank you Kayti. I appreciate that you have gone back and read some of the posts. This comment makes me have a bit more confidence.

      Billy Bob is still with me and I hope he has a long life. He continues to eat Noble Goat and alfalfa pellets and costal bermuda hay. He gets lots of apple peelings and vegetable scraps. He still butts the tree and “baaaas” when he wants more food.

  2. Kathy says:

    Glad to hear the good news about Billy Bob. You have such a wide-open heart for these animals, Yvonne. My friend out in California had goats who had just had babies when I visited. It was fun seeing the little ones–and photographing them–but did not want to get to close to the one with horns!

    • Thank you Kathy for commenting. Yep, Billy Bob remains his ornery self. I was late feeding him today and he was attempting to demolish his large feeding tub. I heard lots of noise coming from his pen and and when I looked he was butting the h— out of the tub that holds his Noble Goat pellets. He does love his Noble Goat and alfalfa pellets. Which by the way, nakes wonderful fertilizer for anthing that you are growing. Just soak in water for about a week or so until the pellets have disolved. You want the solution to be a pale to medium green color. πŸ™‚ Then water weekly or so with the solution. Cheap and very good fertilizer.

  3. frizztext says:

    thank you for your kind words about a German biography …
    +
    it’s great if we have the power to care for human beings or animals as well –
    and sometimes it is even amusing:
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/goats-yelling-like-humans/

    • You are welcome. As for the animals I have been able to keep my little sanctuary going through my own money. That is a huge fear that I can’t contunue so I need to see about becoming a non profit. I am a retired RN from 35 years as a psychiatric nurse for the fedral governement. So I reckon caring has been more or less inate since I was a small child.

  4. chatou11 says:

    Hello Yvonne, what a nice story about Billy Bob saved from becoming cabrito! I love the first picture.. I love goats and I had two in the past and I know how it is difficult to keep still for any treatment. but Brandi seems to manage very well.
    For sure Billy Bob is happy to be spoiled.
    Thanks for this topic

    • Hi Chatou and thanks for visiting. So you’ve had goats as well. They all have a personality for sure and Billy Bob is a case unto himself. He lets me know if I don’t feed him at the expected time by baaaing and bucking around in his pen as he makes snorting noises. Then he rams the storage building next to his “house.” He has put holes in the shed and now those holes are just “sort of” patched up with scrap metal bars from gates and metal fence railing. It looks an awful sight but that is the best my son would do each time a new hole was made in the shed. πŸ™‚

  5. Another goat lover here. Well all animals really, much nicer than people. How lovely of you to home him, cojones or not. Never eaten cabrito, but it doesn’t really feature on a vegetarian menu. Took a nice piccy of loads of them wandering up our street in Spain but haven’t got around to posting yet, checking out a few fave blog first πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Ms Gib for commenting. I have been thinking of you and wondering why I have not seen any comments from you on other blogs. Yes, you are like me. I have never tasted goat and I remain a vegetarian. Will look forward to the goat pics on your blog.

      • Had a couple of weeks holiday – literally as well as from the internet. Very good for the soul to be internet free for a couple of weeks. Wish it hadn’t been invented but as it has I have to venture out from my prehistoric cave and use it. Might write a post today.

        • Thanks for the reply. It is a good thing that you took a holiday. Hope that you are rested. I have been puny and have no idea when I will feel as if I can deal with the hassle of posting photos with a few words. I’ll look forward to your post/s.

  6. artscottnet says:

    So good of you! I’ve never known a goat, but from what I’ve read, they can be contrary at best… who could not love a face like that!? πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Scott for commenting. Well, I am probably the only one who could love that nutty old goat. Of course I love him from a distance. I can’t risk getting badly hurt if he decided to butt me, which would, I am sure knock me down. Goats can be quite mean especially the males. Being neutered apparently does not make a goat docile.

  7. I love goats and your Billy Bob is adorable. I have a friend who volunteers at a rescue shelter for animals and they have a lot of goats. They can be quite a handful! I think you’re wonderful.

    • Lady Kay, you are too kind. I am not wonderful just too soft where some animals are concerned. I bet your friend works hard but feels lots of satisfaction from her work at the shelter. Yes, the goats can be a challenge. I do not go in the pen with Billy Bob for he would try to butt me and knock me to the ground. At about 105 pounds, I am no match for him. He butts the same area of a huge tree in his pen and the outer bark has been missing from the spot for years.

  8. You would always take care of him even though he’s grumpy? That shows a good person.

  9. Well done for saving and keeping Billy Bob. Great job. I had a baby goat once, on the farm I had purchased. He belonged to the person we bought the place from who, eventually, came and retrieved him. In the meantime, he figured he was a dog, playing with mine all the time. He particularly loved beds and any other form of furniture and figured the best snack ever was cigarette butts out of ashtrays. What a character he was.

    • Thank you Susan for reading and commenting. Well, that is a shame that the guy came for the goat. It sounds as if he was a nice pet and lots of entertainment minus his penchant for cigarette butts. But I I reckon that was one way to empty the ash tray. πŸ™‚

  10. What a great story! I’m so glad to hear BillyBob is still hanging in there. What a great face he has! Thanks, Yvonne!

  11. Andrew says:

    I enjoyed rereading this Yvonne. I am always wary of big billy goat gruffs and this is one big Billy. It would be a shame if he lost his horns having already lost his cojones. There are very few people like you, Yvonne. Very special, whatever you say.

    • Oh, Andrew you have a knack for the funny.(cajones) πŸ™‚ I did not expect that you would read this again since you had about 6 months ago or so. Well, I’m pretty sure he’ll keep his horns. I need to spend money on the cats and dogs. All he needs now is bi-yearly deworming and that needs to be done soon. My son helps me with that. Thanks for commenting. πŸ™‚

  12. Val says:

    That is one mean-looking goat! And that’s a compliment! πŸ˜‰ My only experiences of goats were of being offered a caravan to sleep in overnight that they’d been living in… I declined, and the goats were not deprived of their home. And one somewhere else that was very interested in eating my handbag (purse)…

    Oh, thinking about it, I’ve a photo of me as a young child – age about two I think – and my sister at a petting zoo (I think it was) and my sister’s holding a baby goat (kid). I love that photo, though I look very glum in it. Maybe I wanted to pet it and was told not to. (My allergies hadn’t been discovered yet, so it wasn’t that.)

    • Gee whiz. I am having a real time with replies and comments to you. It all keeps being erased. That is too funny about you being offered a place to sleep in a goat caravan. I can imagine the place was pretty smelly. The experiences with the goat would make a good post. Too funny. The pic of you pouting must be a cutie. I bet, as you have written that you had wanted to pet the goat. Little goats. lambs, and little kids go hand in hand. Thanks Val, for commenting.

  13. penpusherpen says:

    Aww, Yvonne, what a wonderful post….I’m so glad Billy Bob’s got a home for life, and that his foot healed after all that trouble…. make’s the heart swell with a rosy feeling.. and I just want to hug the life out of you, but I won’t … (I know, you feel such a relief!! πŸ˜‰ ) He looks so full of at-ti-tude, but what the heck, he’s entitled methinks… Stay safe though, …. just been reading your replies,… he’s one BIG handful… hugs aplenty… xPenx

    • Thanks Penny for the nice comment. I really appreciate your visits ever so much. Yes, as I’ve replied to others, you are right about attitude. When he is not fed at the expected time he butts a big tree in his pen, baas really loud, and runs and bucks like a horse. I reckon I should say that is is bored and spoiled.

  14. Lottie Nevin says:

    Of course this post made me smile! You are an extraordinary woman Yvonne, you really are. Never doubt yourself, EVER.

    You be very careful with Billy Bob, I know you know this and I’m sure you are very careful but my goodness these boys can be vicious. I kept 2 Billys myself and a ram. He’s probably not as ‘hormonal’ as he would be if he was surrounded by ‘ladies’ but all the same don’t turn your back! Is he castrated?

    I’m really interested as to why he has horns? He looks very much like an Anglo-Nubian but he’s obviously crossed with something else, I wonder what it is. The horns are not those of Toggenbergs so I’m guessing it’s something a bit feral!

    What a lucky boy to have found himself the life of luxury living with you. A great poultice to use for feet is hot bran but you probably know that! XXX

    • Thank you Lottie. I don’t believe that I am anything special. Special nut case maybe. πŸ™‚ And I am so glad that you added your thoughts about his breed. I thought that maybe he was part Boer but I never got around to researching that. So now I have something to go by and will look up Anglo-Nubian and the Toggenberg. Lisa, my daughter has always said that Billy is the biggest goat that she has ever seen.

      The reason he has horns was my son’s adamant idea that he needed his horns for protection. In the end having horns did not protect him from my son’s Australian cattle dog (blue healer). After his dog got into Billy’s pen and chewed the h–l out of his hind quarters, at my son’s house, I got one of my husband’s welders to go with me to bring Billy to my house. My son is bull-headed and is of the opinion that he knows best about many things. So now that Biily is aged I don’t know how it would be to remove his horns but I have thought about asking the large animal vet about it. I’ve had Biily in my care for about the past 7 years-maybe longer. He get’s better care from me than from my son.

      I almost forgot. Yes, he is castrated. The job had aleady been done because he had been destined to be on someone’s dinner plate as cabrito- barbecued goat in Spanish. As Andrew called them cajones (testicles and scrotal sack. If the male goat is not neutered supposedly the meat tastes awful. I have no idea since I’ve never eaten cabrito. I had a pet goat for about 2 years when I was in first and second grade. He met an untimely demise when stomped by my Dad’s mules. That was my Dad’s story but I had a suspicion, even back then, that my Dad sold him to become food for someone.

      No, I did not know about hot bran. I’ll need to see about the ends and outs of that if he should get another infection. And, I surely hope that he doesn’t.

      As you mention, goats can be dangerous and he is no excption. I don’t take any chances with him. And that calls for another post somewhere down the road. He was out one morning and I did not know he was in the shop. I had a close call. That was about two years ago. Now his pen is made with heavy steel bars.

  15. exiledprospero says:

    Looks like a scene from a (soon to be discovered) Marx Brothers movie.

  16. Andrew says:

    He’s a handsome looking beast – perhaps he could be seconded as a military mascot.

    • Thanks for all of the likes. I got a laugh out of your Billy Bob comment. He is one bad-a– goat. He gives me the evil eye (no joke) if I am late feeding him. He is enclosed where there is a shed of which one end is his barn/shelter. He has demolished the front of the shed. It looks like junk city and that is a major repair job and I will need to get a carpenter to shore it up with some heavy timbers. I am thinking cedar logs.

  17. I love goats! They’re so cute and social (usually). I’m surprised he would hurt you, the ones I’ve met have all been very gentle.

    • Well—– Billy Bob is not the average goat. He is part Boar and something else. And, he is large compared to most breeds of goats. Everytime my daughter comes home she remarks, “that is the biggest dang goat that I have ever seen.” The other problem is that my son played with him by grabbing his horms and then would push against him so that it became a game with Billy and it was a game of ” I’ll shove you back and then you shove me in return. A back and forth thing. So it could be that he expects most people to play that game with him, only it is dangerous (if you weigh 112 lbs) and you have plenty of muscle power and I certainly do not but my son can easily play with him.

      Maybe he was expecting to play when he ran at me in the shop and I could not get any distance between me and Billy. I had to grab some pieces of iron that had been cut and were going to be used to make a patio railing, to hit him over the head. Gee, did I ever hate having to that but I had to hit him several times before he would back away.Then I ran for the house and Billy was running free in the back yard until my son’s welder showed up and could fix the fence and put Billy back in his pen. Glad you read the post and put a like on this one and also on the cat photos. It is always appreciated.

      Regards,Yvonne

  18. TexWisGirl says:

    he seems to like the life of luxury. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for looking at big ole Billy Bob. Yes, he is a spoiled goat and he will hurt me if I go into his pen. He knows that he has me over the barrel. There are many stories about him and one where he had me cornered in the welding shop ( this past spring) That is a story of itself and some day I will write about it. The incident was funny AND not funny for he would have hurt me bad. He is good around some people but he knows, sort of like a dog knows fear, that I am afraid of him. The young woman in the picture that was bathing him has no fear of any animal. I have never witnessed anyone like her. She can handle any dog, cat, goat, or what ever.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

