Soldier and His Rescued Afghan Cat. Happy Ending But You Might Shed a Tear

Please click the link which takes you to this wonderful story. I know that I am posting other writer’s stories of late but these are too good not to pass them on to you guys/readers/subscribers/lurkers. Oh well. I know not how to refer to those of you that have been so faithful to read my postings.

Soldier and Cat Save Each Other in Afghanistan
By Caroline Golon

http://halopets.com/freekibble/donation95.html

Tagged ,

29 thoughts on “Soldier and His Rescued Afghan Cat. Happy Ending But You Might Shed a Tear

  1. chatou11 says:

    Hallo Yvonne, what a lovely story about Koshka and Sgt Jesse..they are both in life and that’s wonderful. I am sure they will have a long life together.
    Thank you for your visit and I am sorry to hear that you have been ill. Hopa you feel better now!
    I had important stomach problems but now I can start eating nearly normally! but still very tired.
    that’s life!
    I with you a very good week

    • Chatou, I’ve been thinking of you and wondering how you have been. I was concerned and of course there was no way to know. I did not check into the email possibility.

      I am so glad that you are doing better and I truly hope that you are going to be okay from now on. I too was also sick about 3- 4 weeks ago. I was sick for more that a week. Extremely fatigued and could not do much of my animal work except to feed and medicate and then of course change water bowls (quite a few of those) and then dip litter boxes each evening after my helper left for the day. I had severe indigestion with pain that went all the way behind my right shoulder blade. I thought I was having a heart attach and then talked myself out of it. I’ve had gastric esophogeal reflux for more than 20 years and at times it gets really bad. But I think that I had a virus that settled to the weakest part of my body – my stomach) I have slowly gained my strength back. I’ve been taking Nexum for years.
      Anyhow, if you want to reply to this, my email is: yvonnedanielrn@yahoo.com After I know that you have read this I will delete this paragraph. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I think a lovely story as well. My feelings were that maybe other people would like it as much as I. Thanks for commenting.

  2. “You lose faith in a lot but sometimes it’s the smallest things that bring you back…” Like a beautiful kitty!

    Animals are great healers, if we’re open to their energy. Lovely story, Yvonne. Thank you so much for passing it on.

    • Thanks lady for visting and reading. We do like our cats that is for sure. I’ve been ill plus computer has been in shop. Still has a virus that is messing with several things. Must take back in on Monday. I’m glad that you liked the story. You and Lottie really are in sync. Posted your reply same day.

      • It truly is bizarre, eh?

        So sorry to hear you’ve been unwell. Hope both you and your computer are on the mend. xo

        • Yes, it is a bit odd. And now you and Lottie are good friends all because of blogging and belonging to the same writer’s group as Lottie had written to me in one of her replies to me. I think it is a wonderful thing to have happened.

          I had toiled on my computer for awhile and it took me over three hours to reply to 3 comments. (at least it felt like three hours) but it was way too long. And then all of a sudden the virus stopped hanging out in my yahoo email. I didn’t see it by about 10:30pm or so. I was going back and forth between yahoo and notifications regarding replies to comments that I had made on other blogs. By that time the typing was as it is supposed to be and today it is behaving okay. Knock on wood. I think that Norton must have finally caught the dang thing. It was advertising increasing the speed on my computer. I despise all of the crud that is on the Internet. Pitiful that some individuals can not get a life.

          Thanks for your words of concern. As of today I am feeling “pretty good.” Spent way too much time trying to catch up and turned off this computer at 4am this morning. Terrible of me so I did not get the sleep that I should have and at this moment I am a bit tired. Elderly you know. It is really something to look forward to. I am joking about that. Enjoy your young years. You are just in the prime of life and have much ahead for you to accomplish.

          Regards,
          Yvonne

        • I’m glad you’re feeling better! And your computer, too. It’s like our life’s blood this internet and when it’s slowed down by viruses and whatnots it is terrible! Haha! Funny how something that’s only been around for such a short amount of time has become so vital.

          And whatever our age, we need to enjoy life as much as we possibly can, eh?


        • I totally agree with you. We are dependent on our computers. It’s the place for many things. I look up so much info on Google. Had this computer in shop again. Apparently has a short in the charger which I discovered myself. Computer man thought is was a defective battery. But it might be kaput as well. However, I discovered the charger has a short as I was plugging and unplugging this machine. πŸ™‚

          And, live life as best we can and thank our lucky stars and the Almighty, if you are a believer. Otherwise just be grateful. πŸ™‚

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    Beautiful story Yvonne. Thanks for sharing it with us lurkers!! (love your turn of phrase, it always makes me smile!) Sorry not to have been in touch before, I’ve had a friend staying and so am behind with my friends posts and leaving comments. Hope all good with you. Lottie xx

    • Thank you Lottie. I don’t think that you have missed a post. I don’t keep tabs anyhow. I’m not quite that freaky yet- at least I don’t think that I’ve become obsessed with my blog. πŸ™‚

      My computer has been in shop. Had hundereds of viruses, spyware, and malware. I let Norton secirity expire. Just got computerr back late Friday pm. (This evening) Computer repair man said that he had removed all but one is still on here. It is really messing with email and my ability to type.

      My computer has been ill and so have I. Totally thought that I was going to die but could not convince myself to go ER or my MD to get checked. I began improving as of yesterday and felt even a bit better today. I was ill for over a week. Very weak and dizzy. Peculiar kind of headache. Guess it was a virus too. πŸ™‚

      Yvonne xx

  4. This is a lovely and touching story, Yvonne, thanks for sharing. Animals such as cats and dogs and probably others are loyal friends to us. They are members of our families. When we lived in Central Africa, we adopted a “hill puppy”. She grew up with our small kids, 5 and 7 and the time. It was unthinkable to leave her behind when we were transfered back home. So she came with us, adapted herself wonderfully to a new environment and climate and lived 15 more years ! I imagine what Koshka meant for this soldier and reciprocally. A truly beautiful story.

    • Isa, thank you for reading and commenting. I love the story of the dog that you rescued. She was very lucky when you chose to rescue her. She did indeed have a long and a wonderful life.

      ~yvonne~

  5. Animals are healers no doubt GOD created them to help us humans navigate this thing called life. I enjoyed this story thank you for sharing.

  6. That is a very nice story Yvonne. When the rest of humanity lets us down we can always count on a pet to keep life bearable and when life is good they are the cherry on top. Animals give us the opportunity to be better humans.

    • Thank you Steve. I agree totally with you. I’m glad the soldier kept the cat and that the cat made that hell hole over there, a bearable one. I can only imagine how awful if must be- everyday for the foreign troops. I think the war is futile and lives needlessly lost. We have not accomplished much for the changes that were made have been undone by the Taliban for the most part.

      • Most wars are a waste of life and money, Yvonne. A few are unavoidable such as WWII but most are just personality disorders. I believe that initially going in to Afghanistan was a good decision, but once it became obvious that any accomplishment will just be undone over time then it was time to get out.

        • Steve, you are so right. WWII and the Us and other countries were going to be taken by Hitler and he and his allies were all nut jobs. The killing of the Jews was simply horrific. Horrific does not adequately describe what Hitler was doing. I shudder when I think of the mass killings.

  7. As a cat lover myself, this story just warms my heart. Thanks for sharing it.

  8. shoreacres says:

    A lovely story – the bonds that form in such circumstances can be unbelievably strong. I’m glad for the happy ending.

    • Thank you Linda for commenting. I thought it was a story that would grab a cat lover’s heart. The cat was very blessed to have wandered into that soldier’s life. I was glad they both got out of that awful place. It seems not much has changed and the Taliban are still going pretty strong.

  9. sybil says:

    Lovely story. Happy ending for both.

  10. Andrew says:

    What a great story, Yvonne. It’s heartwarming that someone would care so much but also a wonderful demonstration of valuable pets can be, wherever they come from.

    • Yes. And I wonder if the writer that criticized the woman that shelled out the 6k for the little Bichon would have something to say about the 3k that was spent to save this cat. I am so glad the soldier was able to get the cat and himself out of that hell hole. The kitty is a pretty one for sure.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

