Spring Has Sprung in Central Texas

a view from the driveway. Mexican plum in bloom

a view from the driveway. Mexican plum in bloom

Non-native young fruit and buds of the Pomegrante which is a tree a helper dug from my in-laws estate in the 70's. Early leaves are a gorgeous reddish color and the blooms are beautiful. The fruit tastes awful

Non-native young fruit and buds of the Pomegrante which is a tree a helper dug from my in-laws estate in the 70’s. Early leaves are a gorgeous reddish color and the blooms are beautiful. The fruit tastes awful

Eve's necklace: native, drought tolerant, understory tree.

Eve’s necklace: native, drought tolerant, understory tree.

Rusty Blackhaw Virbunum, native. Understory or full sun- fairly rare. Beautiful new leaves in spring with good fall color.

Rusty Blackhaw Virbunum, native. Understory or full sun- fairly rare. Beautiful new leaves in spring with good fall color.”

[caption id="attachment_4528" align="aligncenter" width="300"]Tiny fruit of an unknown native grape variety. Pretty in the spring as if in bloom. Male grape as it never produce any grapes. I need to research that Tiny fruit of an unknown native grape variety. Pretty in the spring as if in bloom. Male grape as it never produce any grapes. I need to research that

Birds love the fruit when ripe in the fall of American Beautyberry, native shrub. Immature spring fruit of American Beautyberry. Birds enjoy the fruit of this easy to grow native.

Newly formed fruit of the Elbow Bush. In late April-May the fruit  ripens to a dark blue and is soon eaten by the birds. Easy to grow native. Survives severe drought (in my yard. Often grows as an understory small shrub.

Newly formed fruit of the Elbow Bush. In late April-May the fruit ripens to a dark blue and is soon eaten by the birds. Easy to grow native. Survives severe drought (in my yard. Often grows as an understory small shrub.

Immature figs of Brown Turkey variety. Birds eat most of the ripe figs

Immature figs of Brown Turkey variety. Birds eat most of the ripe figs

I have photos of a more spring blooms but these will suffice for now. Getting these pix into this post has been nothing short of a minor miracle. A long and tiring job. I have not posted a group pf photos in a while. I tried to get these to work as a slideshow but I had no cooperation from my brain to the media gallery of WP. I will have to look that up someplace as it seems I’ve forgotten how. Ticks me off- a lot!

46 thoughts on “Spring Has Sprung in Central Texas

  1. I am loving all these pictures.

  2. chatou11 says:

    Thanks foro sharing those beautiful flowers and trees Yvonne.. it must change very quickly now. Here in the south of France, we have had very warm days and then 10Ā° difference in a few days, so flowers and birds are a little bit lost
    thanks, I enjoyed this post.

    • Yes, Chatou, the weather here in central Texas has been a bit crazy as well. The days have been farily warm and then at night it has been chilly. We are not getting the rain that we need though. I surely hope that we are not in for another drought. The last one was very bad. I’m not sure if all parts of Texas is now drought free or not.

      PS: I have more plant pics to post but I have not felt like posting. I am working toward that however. šŸ™‚

  3. your garden is so beautiful. This trees is simply awesome. Thanks for sharing with their names!!!

  4. penpusherpen says:

    Loved looking at all the photo’s Yvonne, Spring in all it’s glory… I can’t wait for ours to finally take off. (but it seems I must, for the temperature keeps falling) … New life, budding/ growing is always a heart lifter… xPenx

    • Gee, Pen, thank you so much for taking a look and for commenting. Spring appears to be in full swing in my area of Texas. But it is very windy today. Everyday the sky looks as if rain will fall but we just get a mist here and there. I fear another drought. ~yvonne~ xx

  5. Hello Yvonne ! You have got some beautiful trees, plants, fruits and flowers around you ! Most of them I do not know and think they would not survive in our short Summer. The small grape is interesting, never seen it before. We do have fig trees in the warmest places of Switzerland, they sometimes grow in terraces vineyards. Do you also have those “mesquite” trees I saw in South TX a few years ago ? Magnificent trees. Thanks for the lovely photos and information.

    • Isa, you are so kind with your comments. Figs thrive here but in northern US and Canada people grow figs in containers.There might be a fig tree that withstands extreme cold of which I am not aware, however, I think that chances of that are remote.

      Yes, indeedy. Mesquite trees all over the place. I don’t have one on my property here in town but there are plenty on my property in the country. They are prominent in many parts of Texas and my area happens to be where it is a common tree. Bees harvest the nectar when the tree is in bloom. In my opinion mesquite honey is the best since my dad’s bees used the trees probably as a good part of their nectar source. The old mesquite trees are beautiful, I think.

      • Yes, mesquite trees are beautiful, some day I will post photos I took of them just for you ! Those seeds or fruits that hang on their branches, do you use them ? Sitting in their shade on a hot day in Texas is simply delightful.

        • I’m glad to know that a foreigner found the beauty of the mesquite. They are lovely if the tree has been allowed to grow old. The branches hang in a graceful manner. The fruit are called mesquite beans. One can chew on the pod and beans and I believe the taste is sweet. Cattle like the beans that hang from the tree and I imagine some wildlife species eat the beans. If I am remembering correctly the native Indians used the beans and ground the beans to make meal and added this to some of their food. I will have to look that. My memory of some of the native plants might not be accurate.

        • Thank you Yvonne, very interesting.

        • Thank for replying to re: the info. My compuer is amiss again. Was going to get a new one but had failed thus far to take action on the need. I am at the local library for use of the computers that are for public use if one has a library card. Usage is limed to an hour or if lucky they give another 30 minutes.

  6. Lovely photos and great information, too. I have a tendency to shoot and not know what the heck I’m shooting!

    My favorite are those amazing orange Pomegrante flowers. I also love that beautiful shade of lavender on the Beautyberry.

    • Thanks so much. I sort of favor the Pomegranate photo for the bloom is such a pretty color. i will need to post the fruit of these things after each of them produces fruit or berries.

  7. They do enlarge. Sort of. They take you to an individual blog post though, rather than just a plain photo. Have you checked your settings? I did advise Mr H on this and he has since made it much easier for his dear readers.

    As for slideshow, WP has made it more difficult. The basic is to type [slideshow]. But, as I haven’t done one for a while, I think you need to select the photos for a gallery (no option for a slideshow at the mo), insert gallery, and then change the text from [gallery] to [slideshow]. You need to work in text not visual.

    I do like pomegranates. They are bittersweet. Sometimes we get some from our neighbours, or pick them when we are out for a walk. We get two types of figs, the green ones and the dark ones. Early figs and later figs. We get nisperos at this time of year. No idea what they are called in english, although I think I discovered it at one point. Anyway they are small and orange coloured and very nice, also much loved by birds.

  8. shoreacres says:

    These are beautiful, and several I don’t know. I do think I’ve seen that cherry laurel but didn’t know what it was. I have noticed our cypress putting on some green over the past few days – and the redbuds are in bloom. Oh! and I saw a HUGE stand of wisteria today – except I can’t remember where I saw it. I need to think about that and go back and take a photo.

    It’s so nice to see your spring – I’ve never thought it was my favorite season, but I’m thinking it could move up a notch. šŸ˜‰

    • Thank you Linda for commenting. I had some wisteria once but had it planted in too much shade. I’ve not gone back to it for some reason. You really should get a pic pf the gorgeous wisteria if it is one that stands out from the crowd as do some of those vines. I like spring but tend to favor fall. Less chance of storms although that seems to be changing just about everywhere. I have one red bud that came up under a large old elm. It doesn’t do very well but I let it hang on for I think it is still pretty. Cypress trees are being used on some landscapes here which was a surprise to me. But they do better with extra water in the summer droughts.

  9. Andrew says:

    You are blessed with an abundance of beautiful pants and trees Yvonne. The driveway looks wonderful. Being integrated with nature makes life more enjoyable to me. You have the best of both worlds it seems. We have a pomegranate in a tub. The flowers are lovely but we give the fruit to the birds. Never tried to eat them. These are excellent photos.

    • Thanks Andrew for your kind comments. I really do feel I am blessed for I am secluded yet in the city but everything that I need is nearby. It was a lucky buy when my husband bought this property before we were married. I’ve lived here for not quite fifty years. When we married I had my horses in a pasture next to our property. Now it is all apartments- three different sets of them as one drives down the street. I am surrounded by affluence but my little ole house was built in the late 40’s but it suits me just fine. As long as I have my health and the money to keep up my child and can manage to hang on to my animals and not have to put any down for lack of money, then I am happy as the proverbial lark.

      And thanks for thinking these are good pics. I wish they were better but someday maybe they’ll be sharper which is my main gripe with my kit lens. BUt for now they are passable just not my standard of what they should look like. One last thought. Even though these are not Flickr quality, I still have a bit of pride in them.

      Oh and why can’t you plant the pomegrante in the garden?

  10. Just Rod says:

    Beautiful photographs. The drive looks very inviting. We are on our way back from Mexico on Wednesday – apparently there is still lots of snow on the ground at home. It will be a bit of a shock to the system. It will be late May or early June before our area looks like yours too.

    • Thank you Rods for the kind comments. I am sure that it is as you write, almost a culture shock when coming back home even though I think, but not sure that you and Susan have lived in Mexico for the winter in the past. Your spring and summer months are so short in Canada compared to ours in most of Texas. But we have the heat and humidity to contend with and it becomes more difficult as we grow older. I’m not aware if the summer months are truly hot where you live. Of course if there is humidity that is something that is not good.

      • Just Rod says:

        I was just re-reading your reply. It’s funny but here, out problem is lack of winter humidity. When it is very cold the air can no longer hold moisture – our home can get as low as 25% relative humidity which is very bad for us. Causes nose bleeds etc. So we have to use a humidifier to pump in extra moisture. Mostly the summers are warm to hot, without excessive humidity. We could do with some of those days soon. It snowed again today. Last year the snow was all gone by the first week in March. People are getting a little antsy. But I don’t think I could take too much of the extreme heat and humidity. Coming from England I think I would find it overbearing. Please post some more spring-like pictures we are in need…

        • Hi Rod. Sorry to be so late to reply. My computer has been in shop to remove viruses, etc and there were hundreds. Computer man said all were removed but one continues to mess with my email and typing. Will need to go back to shop. I had him put Norton on this thing. It is rated 3rd in efficiency. Looks like it is not doing a very good job. Had this same virus on this computer and it is still rearing its ugly head. šŸ™‚

          I liked reading about your weather. So different from Texas. I dread the summer. We’ve had some hot days aready. Up to 89-90 degrees. Cool for last 2 days.

          I’ve lots of pics but don’t know if I can get them posted since it is taking so long to reply to 3 comments. The type stops and I must wait for the cursor to move forward.

  11. Val says:

    Lovely to see your plants, Yvonne.

    Will reply to your email in a couple of days or so. šŸ™‚

  12. beautiful — that is what we have to look forward to soon — but certainly different species in southwestern Ontario —

    • You know Lou Ann I could have sworn that I had replied. I remember what I wrote. Oh well. Where you live it so lush and green and not so hot and dry. At least that is my idea. The plants are different as you wrote but gee those gardens are simply beautiful. Thanks for commenting.

      • I live in an area that is lush in the summer but it is hot and humid in the summer–right now though spring is refusing to come and we are living with the remnants of winter

        • Your comments about the weather tells me that we are not alone re: the heat and humidity. It has also educated me a bit more about where you live. Are you not near one of the Great Lakes and if so are there cooling winds blowing from the lake at sometime or the other? I live very near a man made lake( city’s water supply) but I am not on a bluff near the lake so I don’t get any effect from the wind. I am surrounded by lots of trees and even though I am higher than my neighbors there is a gradual decline of land so that the further one lives down the street in becomes sort of a valley effect. Even part of my property (my house ) is higher than parts of this one acre.

          I don’t know if I could survive so much cold. I feel awful when it is overcast and that sort of puts me in a depressed mood.

          Thanks for commenting, Lou Ann.

        • we live on Lake Erie at what we like to call the most southern part of Canada–so our summers are outrageously hot and humid sometimes —

        • If you are on the southern part of Lake Erie then you are lower south than some of the states that border on lake Erie and of course you are lower than Maine, I think. I hope I have my geography correct. It probably isn’t. It is too bad you are at the lake but that does not appear to be of help to you. Maybe too many trees. I know that I don’t get as much breeze if I were not surrounded by trees and shrubs.

  13. How nice that it is Spring there, Yvonne. Still have a ways to go here. Not quite the wait that sybil has but it will be a while.
    Are all these on your property? What an Eden you have. In the different tastes dept…..I love pomegranate. šŸ™‚

    • Thanks for commenting. Steve, it has been spring here for about a month. But blooms are still in progress as other plants begin to flower. My daughter, Lisa loves pomegranate also. The one in the photograph is an old garden species but the mature fruit is quite large. It is simply very dry with hardly any juice. I bought a newer orchard variety last year and it is still in the pot. I brought it through the winter without exposing it to any of the very few freezes that we had. I put plants in the welding shop and would drag them out on nice days. I have about 12 or more plants that I must get planted this spring. I have put off the planting re: not using my helper as much so that I could pay for vet bills and food. If you read my reply to Andrew you will see why I scrimp and live in a very frugal manner. I care about my animals and they are my responsibility because I took them in.

      I wish my yard were an Eden. When I was working I had twice as much money. My salary was very good. Now the yard in more unkempt but it has always been in a more or less natural state. All the plants in the photos are mine. I’ve more pics that have not been posted but I got tired of trying to get them with the right captions.I’ve not posted any pics in a while and I wanted to make these a slideshow bit I could not get WP to cooperate with my brain. šŸ™‚ I will try a different way another time.

  14. sybil says:

    It’ll be June before things look like that here in Nova Scotia. Got a spare room there for me ? šŸ˜‰

    • Thanks for the reply,Sybil. Yep, I could put you up in the sunroom that I had added on but is not quite finished on the inside and out.

      You are so far north so you don’t get much summer. Here we had very little winter and the greenhouse effect really is rearing its ugly head in our part of the universe.

  15. TexWisGirl says:

    love your driveway view! very lush with the plum blossoms!

    • Thanks Theresa. I feel a little like living in the country. I am secluded yet very much a part of the city. And I do love those Mexican plums. A rather fast growing tree just from the seed. I have them coming up all over the place.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

