An Article From “The Dogster” The Daily Scoop ( this is a good one)

Click the link at the bottom to read the story.

I subscribe to The Dogster and often the online magazine has tremendous stories. I loved this one. But I didn’t like the disapproval of the woman condemning the person who paid 6G to save the family dog that will add two more years to its life.

My question to the criticizing woman is, do you give to a charity, how much did you spend on your vacation, your clothes for the year, how many trips did you make, did you need your big screen TV, iphone, and all your fancy clothes?

Click the link below and read the article. It is a good one.

http://www.dogster.com/the-scoop/would-you-pay-6000-save-an-elderly-dog

~yvonne~

18 thoughts on “An Article From “The Dogster” The Daily Scoop ( this is a good one)

  1. chatou11 says:

    What a lovely story Yvonne, but I try to imagine how I woud like to spend that money for one of my dog. But it’s not always possible. But still I say “Bravo” to this lady and hope she will have two more years happiness with Sassy.

    • Thanks for commenting. I am happy to know that some people can afford to pay the prices to keep there pets in their lives by spending that kind of money. I feel the lady probably had a saving account and maybe it was one that she has been saving for years just to spend for her pets. I don’t think that she is a wealthy woman since the article mentioned that she is a librarian.

  2. Andrew says:

    I would definitely spend the money on Lulu at this stage in her life and fortunately could afford to do so but I’m not sure if she were 14 or 15. It would be a quality of life question then. Mui Chu lived to be 16 and went quickly. Shirley sat up with her comforting her and caring for her for two nights before we decided she was too ill to continue. I did the sad but necessary in taking her to the vet. We thought it was the kind choice rather than a financial choice. Like Rod I think it is hard to put monetary value on intangible things and the pleasure a dog brings is not something you can buy from WalMart. I think you should do what you can afford. When you take on a dog, purchased or adopted, you have the same responsibility you have if you have a child. I know others will disagree. I don’t care. I’m just an old softy.

    • Andrew, as you probably guessed my sentiments are the same as yours and Rod. I scrimp and live as frugal as possible just so that I can hang onto my favorite ones.

      I feel the same as you about the pet being viewed as part of the family. I work hard caring for some of the elderly that have lived with me for 14-17 years or so. Two are in progressive renal failure and they get subcu fluids at night They also get RX diet to help the kidneys function longer. These two are sisters and one, the tortie is about at the end of the road. I had to stop sticking her because she was bleeding with each stick She is very thin but I can’t bring myself to end her life until she stops eating. They are about 14 or 15, just can’t remember exact year that I trapped them. They’ve had a pretty decent life as compared to a very short one where they were living as kittens where I worked.

      Some are still semi-feral and don’t want to be tamed so I can not handle them for medications and such. They live in the cattery on concrete floors with shelves built up where they sleep. There is also a large open air and enclosed run with shelves for them to laze about. I was able to afford that when I was still working. I stopped rescue after 2005. I have a few that came as strays or were feral and those that arrived at my door were quick to tame. You have seen some of them in photos on this blog. That group lives in a special cattery and I have AC in there for the summer. They get Revolution applied to keep fleas and mosquitoes at bay. But now I have kept them indoors for the mosquitoes were too bad and were stinging some on the nose. There are window with screens and bars so that they can push out. The coyotes, hawks, and owls are bad so none of them are allowed to roam free.

      But getting back to the vet. He gave her a few drops of Lactulose and told me to add pumpkin. The plain kind with no added spices. I keep it in the cupboard all the time. So I mixed that in after getting home and she ate it with no problem. ( GD canned mixed with 2 teaspoons of pumpkin).She passed large amount of stool in one of the litter boxes that I had put in the sunroom. Now she seems to be doing okay and I hope she’ll be around for several more years.

      You did the right thing by taking Mui Chu to be put down. When the animal is in pain and will not eat, then it is time to say goodbye. I take them whenever one no longer eats and is clearly in pain and the sparkle leaves their eyes. You can see when an animal has that faraway look. They are really in bad shape then and it is the humane thing to do. I also think they know when the end is near.

      • Andrew says:

        Yvonne, your compassion is tear jerking. If only everyone had as much. Sassy is very lucky to be in such good hands. Giving pets a dignified end is all we can do. I honestly think Mui Chu had had enough. The eyes were indeed without sparkle. I hope one day someone might do the same for me.

        • Well Andrew I will confess that I have often wished that I had not been born with this love for animals. No joke. I am a sucker and it now pains me that I can’t do rescue anymore. I think I was born with this in my brain. It is like it’s been hard wired. Like the Border Collies and their drive to work and please. I have no idea where my feelings come from. By the time I was a toddler I was bottle feeding a very young pig and I made pets out of many of the farm animals. I met with lots of grief when they made a sudden departure and I knew how their life ended. I stopped making pets of the cattle and chickens for it became unbearable. But I always had the barn cats. My parents kept dogs too so I had them for pets. If I could be more middle of the road that would be so much better but that is not me. So I live with it. 🙂

          Have you read the dog stories that Rod has posted. There are three stories and THEY ARE GOOD. He writes extremely well. One dog before he died came to lick each family member’s hand and then went to lie down and died. That story caused me to shed some tears. And as you have written, animals know when their life is about over. It is evident to me and you saw the look in Miu Chu’s eyes. It is unmistakable.

  3. Just Rod says:

    Thanks for directing us to this article. One of the problems today is we try to put a dollar value on things which cannot be valued in terms of money. What is the price of love? What is the dollar value of a sunset?
    When it comes to living things that we have loved and from whom we have received unconditional love, it is very difficult, for me at least, to say oh, that’s too much money, let it die. It is that way also with animals we don’t know. My daughter had a puppy, a stray, it contracted that puppy disease (can’t think of the name) and needed special veterinary treatments – very expensive. Only a fifty fifty chance of survival. But how could I let it die without trying.

    • Thanks for commenting ,Rod. I really like your answer/Lovely words of explanation.

      Puppies get diseases if not vaccinated soon enough and sometimes even then a puppy will become ill. Distemper and parvo are the main ones that come to mind. Distemper is almost always a killer and if the dog lives it often has some type of neurological problem.

      Did the puppy make it. If not I am like you. If one had the means and the animals is truly loved and there is hope for it to live then I think go ahead and treat.

      We would not want our loved ones let us die if there was a chance of survival without being in a vegetative state.

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    Apart from right now, I’ve kept dogs for years. Some have been bought as puppies and others have been rescue animals – often coming to me in a terrible state before I have then nursed them lovingly back to health, aided by eye-wateringly expensive vets bills.

    Regardless of their pedigree, age or background they have all been given the same care and attention though I have to admit the rescue dogs did end up costing a lot more thanks to the cruelty and negligence that they had suffered with previous owners.

    All I cared about was getting them fixed. I was lucky in that my dogs were all robust and healthy and lived to a good age. Just like humans, good diet, exercise and general well-being help towards keeping a dog healthy for longer. Pedigree dogs seem to suffer the most when it comes to eye/ hip/joint and back problems – most likely due to bad selection from breeders who want to make a fast buck. I speak through bitter experience here (another story for another day)

    Everyone who has commented on your post has echoed my thoughts on the subject. The bottom line is that if we keep animals it’s inevitable that at some stage vets bills are going to be a part of the deal. I don’t think that I can add anything more as it’s all been so eloquently said in the previous comments.

    Do I give to charity? I’m not in a position to send off a cheque each month to a charity/ies but I hope that in my daily gestures and deeds here in Jakarta I am doing something to help those less fortunate than myself. The old and infirm and the street kids do pretty well out of me and the beggars in the markets now laugh and smile when they see me coming as they know that this bule (foreigner) has a big heart.

    • I know that you are an animal lover just by reading your posts. I can pretty much tell who has a kind heart by reading through or between the lines. All of those animals that you saved back in Great Britain, I am sure showed their gratitude. I have noticed that rescued animals seem to have a different way about them but maybe that is simply something that I want to believe.

      I don’t give to charities either. The money tends to go some other place so I do as you. I help out a couple of people by giving them rides and with groceries now and then. But lately I can’t do the groceries anymore because I have a child to support and my animals require quite a bit of money. I scrimp and live in a frugal manner so I can keep these animals. I hope and pray that I can continue with all of them. However, push may come to shove and I’ll need to put the wilder ones down simply to cut food costs. I cut back the time for using outside help and I do all of the work about 4-5 days a week.

      If I were living where you do I would be an easy touch as well. If you can afford to part with a little here and there then I think you can sleep well knowing that you helped some poor person out that day.

      If and when you leave Jakarta those that you are helping will miss you more than you could ever imagine. I am sure those people are grateful for your kindness.

      Thank you for the long comment. It is so nice to read. I appreciate that you took the time to write.

      Fond regards,
      yvonne

  5. I’ll put my hand up, I didn’t read the comments. Probably because when I read bought Bichon Frise, I slightly switched off anyway.

    Like shoreacres, I don’t have the money either. I don’t have it for me, I don’t have it for my dog. I do have enough to pay for his Cox-2 inhibitor tablets daily to help with his arthritis/atrophy.

    I do understand the idea of choice about operations. My father chose not to have one and later died. He didn’t want the intervention.

    As for expenditure, no holidays for years, no clothes (hate shopping anyway), trips? ok we do go back to the finca in Spain, but in Gib we walk or bus, and in Spain we walk or cycle, no TV, one iPhone (3GS so not exactly state of the art).

    We have given to homeless people in Spain. Not to charities, but directly to them. Right now, we can’t afford because we haven’t any income but when we did have, we tried to help others who were less fortunate.

    Hope that answers your questions from my perspective, Yvonne. We all help our animals and people in different ways.

    • Thanks for reading so quickly and for your comment. I am with you. Yes, if I don’t have the money then pets do not get the care. I am fortunate that I have a decent retirement but I scrimp in every way that I can.

      Most of my animals are rescues and I use the band aid effect on them. A vet figures the dose for me of an antibiotic that I use to knock down gum and mouth bacteria thus enabling the cat/dog to get by without a dental. I use the injectable clindamycin for it takes a little bit and a few days and I’m done with that for about a year or maybe longer. Some of them do not get treated for they are too wild. (cats) They all have great shelter of special add ons and one large barnlike structure. That was done when I had money to spare when I was working. My vet helps me out a bit with short cuts. Too long to get into here.

      I no longer can do rescue work for I am not a non-profit which I should have done years ago. Now I think about it and wonder if it would help me out. I am a pessimist.

      But like you again, I have given here and there to a couple of people. Mostly groceries and travel to stores or MD appointments. Now I must continue to really cut back even harder since I am supporting my daughter who is quite ill with arthritis which struck her down when she was just hitting her stride. It has been devastating to her and to me. She has filed for social security disability but people are usually turned down 2 and 3 times. She has paid heavily into the system but that means nothing to the Social security administration.

      I also do not buy clothes. Go to second hand shop for shirts, blouses,etc. Wear old jeans for everyday and I own lots of denim shirts (my favorites). No TV. Don’t buy books, no eating out or the movies and I only go to Austin to check on my daughter and those trips are infrequent. I’m at home 95% of the time. Don’t take the newspaper anymore either. But, I am okay with how I live. I grew up with parents that scrimped in order to pay for their farm. I know how to be frugal and it sure does not bother me at all.

      • This is a very emotive subject Yvonne, and you have touched a lot of peoples’ hearts.

        I just wanted to respond to a few of your points (OK all of them!). One is that so many of us dream of having some sort of animal sanctuary, but can never do it for whatever reason, shortage of land and/or money being the main one. So homing 1/2/3 rescue animals is the nearest we can get (three dogs, being the most we have ever had). I admire anyone who can manage to do more than that, and work, and put in the tremendous amount of effort and love and money needed to care for abandoned creatures.

        My vet is low cost. He doesn’t prescribe anything unnecessarily, and will look for cheaper drugs to keep the cost down. He swapped the NSAID for a cheaper one, but we didn’t consider it was working as well, so asked to go back to the more expensive one. Price difference – £1.50:£1.80. But I would prefer to pay for the dearer one and give it every other day, not just for cost, but primarily for the dog. He’s currently got an anti-tick collar. I don’t like those either but after he contracted tick disease a couple of years ago, I don’t want that happening again and the weather is warming up and damp so prime tick season.

        I remember you wrote about your daughter before. I do hope a) she achieves some relief from her pain and b) she receives state benefit. It is so sad when you have worked hard and the state delays or refuses help for genuine cases of need. We have a friend who has developed epilepsy, and she has to keep having repeated medical checks, not for her health, but to prove that she can’t work and so continues to be eligible for benefit. It’s not as though epilepsy goes away. My partner’s niece died from an epileptic fit in her mid 20s.

        We are lucky to have generous neighbours, so we get books, clothes, food, whatever they decide they can no longer use. In return we give our Spanish neighbours some food, and we help gib and spanish neighbours with any problems in their homes eg fixing a water heater for one neighbour, helping another get in when he locked himself out. I also use the library for books. I walked into a bookshop the other day and looked at a book. £7.50. I would have read it in a day.

        I was lucky to grow up with enough money. But even so, I learned to save, and not to spend unnecessarily. It’s all about our priorities within our means, and I guess that was the point of the original article you linked to.

        • Ms Gibbs, how is that within reason? I hope ok with you but please let me know if you can come up with a name better name than that. 🙂 Just kidding. I appreciate all of your comments. They always have a great deal of value. I think you are quite the writer and someone has missed discovering your talent. I think you could write a wonderful column for a newspaper.

          But on the with the topic. I never intended to have a sanctuary of sorts, as it were or is. I have these animals and thus far I’ve been able to keep them well fed and pretty well cared for. Some have gotten the best care that I had the money for simply because they were and are very dear to me and they seem to return that love or gratitude. If they are on the wild side those cats are put down if they need more than basic treatment. But that has been very rare. I’ve been lucky to have my daughter oder Rx diets which has saved me some money. Also, like you I try to go the cheapest way possible for vet care. She orders and prescribes supplies that I need such as needles, syringes and, fluids and other things. She comes home sometimes with a driver and a helper to examine the ones that are cooperative. She can not risk being bitten or scratched. I switched vets in August for a number of reasons and I’ll write a post about that at some point. My current vet is fairly good about cost. I can take an animal in for labs. He will also advise what to use and order the doses on some meds. That helps. I buy the flea and tick and mosquito stuff through my daughter. The dogs get heartworm labs once each year and she often does those blood draws. She has vaccinated the animals for rabies as well which saves me lots of money. I could not have made it this far without her and the vets that I have used in this town without a bit of compassion from them. One shot costs a good bit of money but when it is used on any cat with a respiratory illness it knocks it out and I have not wasted money on several meds because some of them don’t work and you have to keep going back to the vet thus the higher priced med (convenia) is worth the 64 dollars. It is a med that has a short expiration date once it is mixed so my daughter says it is not worth the cost of an entire bottle for me.

          That said, I think you are wise to keep the tick collar on your dog since the ticks are bad. I use topical simply because that is what I prefer. No it is not cheap to own pets but it can be done if one keeps their pet as healthy as possible. I have been confining my dogs to the barren backyard to keep tick infestation down. My helper sprays the yard with diesel- yes diesel and it kills ticks and fleas. I have used it for several years now. Just have to keep the dogs off the sprayed ground for a day or two until I feel they won’t be harmed. I don’t leave them in the yard much in the warm months because ticks are bad here too.

          I think your way of life is a kind and wonderful way to live. No one needs to be wealthy to be a kind and wise person. I don’t buy books either and do not own any sort of phone with all kinds of apps.That is all crazy and needless. People no longer know how to speak anymore with all of the texting that young people are so keen on doing. Older people seem to be hooked on the trend as well.

          I believe that kindness toward your neighbors does not need to involve money. An act of kindness counts and that is what you are doing. I drive a 1998 truck. I don’t owe anyone thus far any money. But my daughter has medical bills that would stagger anyone that had lots of money. simply put I don’t know how we could ever pay all the quack Mds that did not have the time or sense to try to diagnose her. No one listened. The MDs in Austin wanted to prescribe antidepressants. They refused to listen to her symptoms. SHe herself had her illness or disease figured out by the time she saw the specialist in Dallas. He has been wonderful so far and I hope he does not change.

          That has got to be dehumanizing to anyone with a disease to keep having to go in for medical check ups. I hope the lady that you wrote about can keep her pride and not allow those crazy laws to take over her life. Please excuse the typos and any other errors. I am a bit tired since it is nearing 2am.

          ~yvonne~

  6. I don’t know for absolute certain what we would do. There are so many variables in life that one can never anticipate exactly one’s decisions in all that life presents. My gut reaction is of course we would if at all possible. It does not matter that we have no children, it does not matter that canine love is different than human love and it most definitely does not matter what anyone else thinks. We love Murphy very much and I cannot conceive of the time he will be gone. But we have been through it twice before and know that we will once again. That said, I believe we would also do everything possible to hold that off as long as we can.
    As far as what that one person had to say…like I said, her opinion means no more than a bit of duff floating by in the breeze. I try not to take much of what is written in those responses too seriously. It amazes me now how many people feel the need to comment in those fora and how easy it is for them to have such negativity in their responses. For some reason they believe the world needs to hear what they think. Guess what. 🙂

    • Thank you Steve for reading and commenting. I am like “roughly” in that the dog is a purchased one but nonetheless that is how some people live and believe in only buying an expensive dog. She probably is not rich but has been saving in order to have the money for their pets.

      As you have written, each situation is different and it depends how long the pet’s life can be extended and how much money you can afford to part with. In my reply to “roughly” you can read that I live cheap. BUt I am not complaining for that is how to choose to live. I am responsible for my daughter now and also my pets. I will be getting my husband’s annuity when I file with back pay. That will help until hopefully social security kicks in for my daughter. I just hope that I do not have to hire an attorney to help speed up the process.

      Two weeks ago I shelled out close to one G to have a dog’s eye removed. That little dog is always near me and one that was wandering the streets for several weeks in a poorer part of town when I found him. His eyes were already infected and he is now about 10-11 years old. I could not put him down. My vet asked if I wanted to go that route. I was appalled. I reckon he still does not know my love for these animals. He is the new one I switched to last August.

      You have commented about how much Murphy means to you and your wife. A pet is like family. They fill a certain void. I never get lonely because I am surrounded by my pets.

  7. shoreacres says:

    If Dixie Rose were elderly, ailing and needing a $6,000 surgery, it wouldn’t happen – because I don’t have the money. If I had plenty of cash lying around and she needed it, I would consider spending the money. On the other hand, if she were 17 or 18, I might not.

    Clearly, there are people who go to extremes with their pets,and clearly there are people who can’t conceive of spending $5 for food for an animal. I suppose my answer is that each of us needs to make our own decision about such things, and leave other people alone to make theirs. Then, whatever’s decided, we support them and go on.

    I did read some of the comments on the original article. It doesn’t seem to make much difference whether it’s politics or pets – there are some flat nasty people out there. 😉

    • Linda, what you wrote is true. Most people are not in that position to spend that kind of money on a pet. It is dependent on what resources are available without going broke or putting oneself in a bind. But I don’t question openly how a person spends their money. Criticism of any kind does not bode well with me. Thanks for the comment. Much appreciated. Of course, I did add my 2 cents worth about the critical woman’s remarks but it was meant to point out about judging another’s actions if you can not say what you are doing for the good of mankind.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

