CRITICAL ALERT (LILIES- Tiny Amount Kills cats) Original post April 25, 2011

Repost from April 25, 2011

CRITICAL: LILIES  (Almost All Varieties) WILL KILL YOUR CAT

Easter is just around the corner. Many people love lilies. Easter Lily, Peace Lily, and Day Lily are merely three of about 110 species of lilies. Of the 110 species -(almost all) are extremely toxic to cats.  If you own a cat—- do not bring a Lily (plant) blooming or non blooming into your home. It only takes a a tiny amount of any part of the lily to kill your cat.  The plant is so toxic even just  pollen from a bloom that falls on the cat’s fur can kill, when the cat grooms itself.  Any and all parts of the lily even if is a minute amount will kill your cat.  The kidney’s begin shutting down almost immediately. Within minutes, the toxin begins attacking the kidneys. It would be virtually impossible to get your cat to an animal emergency room in time to save your pet from kidney damage. Do not take a chance thinking that your cat will not bother to nibble on the plant.  Almost all cats will nibble on anything green that is brought into the house. DO NOT TAKE A CHANCE AND KEEP YOUR PET SAFE!!!

Tagged , ,

10 thoughts on “CRITICAL ALERT (LILIES- Tiny Amount Kills cats) Original post April 25, 2011

  1. I have no cat but my neighbour and dear friend has two. I will certainly share your precious post with her. Thanks a lot. I did not at all about this serious danger.

    • Your comment makes me happy to know that I have truly posted something o value us Thanks for letting me and ask your neighbor to pass the info to other people. Tell her about my blog if she has a computer and she can read a bunch of other stuff about cats. I have lots of medical info re: cats and dogs but have not been able to get it on the blog yet. I am short of time. πŸ™‚

      ~yvonne~

  2. Wow, I didn’t know that!

  3. Great post people need to be aware to protect their pets. I’m following your blog now πŸ™‚ Melody

    • Thank you so much for commenting and following. Much appreciated. I’m glad this was good info. I had forgotten to repost until last night. A bit late but better than never. Word of mouth can inform friends at church as I am pretty sure that Easter Lilies are used at the altar. THis is the practice of many churches at Easter. My own cats will chew on anything green and even if just a dead stalk of a plant.

      ~yvonne~

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

