A Tribute to One Man’s Dog: A Poem by Gene Hill

Barren tree against a vivid sky.

Barren tree against a vivid sky.

Poem by Gene Hill

He is my other eyes that can see above the clouds;

my other ears that hear above the winds.

He is the part of me that can reach out into the sea.

He has told me a thousand times over that I am his reason for being;

by the way he rests against my leg; by the way he thumps his tail at my smallest smile; by the way he shows his hurt when I leave without taking him.

(I think it makes him sick with worry when he is not along to care for me.)

 When I am wrong, he is delighted to forgive. When I am angry, he clowns to make me smile.

When I am happy, he is joy unbounded. When I am a fool, he ignores it. When I succeed, he brags.

Without him, I am only another man. With him, I am all-powerful.

He is loyalty itself. He has taught me the meaning of devotion.

With him, I know a secret comfort and a private peace.

He has brought me understanding where before I was ignorant.

His head on my knee can heal my human hurts.

His presence by my side is protection against my fears of dark and unknown things.

He has promised to wait for me… whenever… wherever – in case I need him. And I expect I will – as I always have.

He is just my dog.  By Gene Hill

 

Post  and photograph of a central Texas sunset November, 2011    by Yvonne

Tagged , ,

51 thoughts on “A Tribute to One Man’s Dog: A Poem by Gene Hill

    • Thank you, Dr. Schulman. I like that poem vet much too.

      • It’s Laura….:-D…..thank you 🐶🌴🍦😻❤

        • Alright then, it’s Laura. I never take a doctor’s name for granted unless told other wise.

        • Thank you so much for that! I was recently severely chastised by the staff of a surgeon I went to, for introducing myself as “Dr. Schulman.” They let me know that they found that terribly uncool. I was raised to address every adult by their title, Miss, Mrs, MS, Mr, Professor, Doctor, Sir, Ma’am, Miss. And heaven help me if I forgot, because my parents were very big on being respectful.

        • Well, I was raised in the same manner. People are due respect and I feel that it is something deserved and earned. It is a matter of social respect and the position they hold. Individuals who have gone to school for many years to serve humanity or the public, elected or appointed and the list goes on. Physicians, dentists, veterinarians, judges, policemen, religious leaders and, yes the folks that run our government.

        • And everybody. Just try walking up to a homeless person and slipping a couple bucks in their hand, and say ma’am/sir, I hope this helps a little, and watch then tear up. They only get chased around and bullied. In my religion, we ate taught that a person like that might be a great sage in disguise, maybe even Elijah the Prophet, maybe even the Messiah Himself! So to treat a homeless person with respect and compassion, including addressing them respectfully, is simply the right thing to do. Blessings to you–Laura

        • I totally agree and could not have written this as thoughtful and beautiful as you.

  1. Wonderful poem about dogs. It has put into words what I have always known about my K9 partners. Yes, when I am with them I know secret comfort and private peace. I am a better human for these gifts.

    • John, thank you for finding my blog and for commenting. I “don’t use Facebook” but maybe one day I will. Absolutely, your thoughts about dogs are so true. I always feel safe and a certain comfort as well, when I am surrounded by my dogs. I feel that I am in great hands as I live out my later years among my dogs. Sure they are a bit of trouble but I have to say that dogs are less troubling that another human since they are just happy to be near us and make no demands.

      ~yvonne

  2. dailyspro says:

    Beautiful post – thank you for posting!

    • Again thank you for writing. I think this is one of the sweetest poem that I have read so far. I’ve lost my share of pets during my long life time. It never gets any easier but hopefully time will ease your pain over the loss of your beautuful dog, Newton. I am pleased that you found the poem and that you took the time to comment.

      Regards,
      Yvonne

  3. Great dog poem. And dogs are our best friends.

    • Thanks Bente for stopping in and reading as well as commenting. I have gathered from other comments from you re: dogs that you must have a dog and that you are fond of dogs. I could not ever be without a dog. They are the best possible friend anyone could ever have.

  4. Wonderful poem! This brings tears to my eyes. Dogs are so very faithful! I love the look in my little guys eyes when I talk to him and rub his belly. I love my husband and children more, but our dog is a close second… 😉

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  5. Fergiemoto says:

    A beautiful and moving poem! Lovely photo, too!

  6. You’re right, this is one of the best dog poems I’ve ever read. Real, touching, celebrating the connection. Beautiful.

  7. Ralph says:

    First of all thank you for the follows and comments that you have made recently Yvonne.
    A lovely photograph of a great sunset and a charming poem. Ralph xox

  8. shoreacres says:

    I have a friend who just has lost her beloved dog, and I’m going to pass this on to her. Even though I have my kitty, one pet isn’t like another, and certainly one species isn’t like another. I just don’t understand dogs the way I do my cat – and it’s nice to have things like this to share with my dog-loving friends.

    And your photo is beautiful! Texas is a glorious state, for sure, and we’re not far from the prettiest season of all. Well, unless you count autumn. And part of summer. And winter… 😉

    • Linda, you make me laugh. Are you really that sold on Texas? I can think of lots of states with far better scenery than what we have here. My little old area is rather plain Jane and actualy drab, drab, drab.

      I am so sorry for your friend’s loss and for the grieving process that she is going through. It is painful, oh so painful.

      You are a cat person and some people are. My sister is pretty much that way about dogs. She had one cat in her lifetime and she did not seem that crazy about Tom Lee, as she called him.

      I love both species but I am partial to my cats. I think they are doted on and pampered but not excessively. They just get more affection form me and I feel they are always cleaner than my dogs who roll around and come back in the house covered in dust.

      A blogger friend from (greater) Great Britian (that won’t give her away) has helped me quite a bit to fiix my blog. I need to rename some things to put under a parent category. Their are several poems that are so good. One I wrote for my daughter and their are two written for dogs. Please connect her to Neil Gaimon’s blog if you can. Do you remember writing about giving his works another look? (you reading his works).

  9. Kathy says:

    This is a special poem. Remembering our two dogs who died many years ago. They brought us a lot of pleasure. I love visiting Lunar’s blog, too.

    • Yes, she has a nice blog and I first saw the poem there. She seems to be a nice person. I assume that you no longer have any pets. Thanks for reading. One of the things that will be fixed is the link thing. I can not get it to work but it might be due to my own stupidity.

  10. A poignant photo to accompany a poignant piece of verse, Yvonne. Every line in that poem is true. Thanks for posting.

  11. Northern Narratives says:

    Beautiful photo and words.

  12. Oooh, this poem is so beautiful, it hurts to read it.
    And what an amazing sky. Very nice picture, Yvonne!

    • Thank you Calee for the nice words. The poem (is) difficult to read. I’m glad that you like the sky picture. The sky pics don’t come along very often. Some areas of the country have magnificent sunsets quite often.

  13. TexWisGirl says:

    i read your intro, and loved your photo, but i decided not to read the poem. one of those ‘soft’ days that would strike the heart a little too hard. 🙂

    • Thanks Theresa. Yes, that poem was very hard to read and post. I cry each time I read it. I put it there because there were quite a few search words/terms for pet loss or dog or pet poems. WP provides a list of what people have been looking for. Euthanasia is another one that people continue to look for. Thank you for reading the intro.

  14. exiledprospero says:

    I know, Yvonne, that you posted this in the Pet Loss category, but it could just have easily been in a category called Pet Appreciation. It’s all in the present and it’s all so true.

    • Propero, that you for reading and for commenting. Your thoughts are centered and insightful. I had not thought of Pet Appreciation. Do you mind if I borrow your idea? I could post it in two categories.

      • exiledprospero says:

        Of course I don’t mind. But I expect that it will be a big category!

        • Thank you. I think you are right about the expansion of that kind of category. Do you ever look at the stats from WP for research terms used by popele looking for a certain something. Dog poems, euthanasia, and pet grief/loss seems to be a “bit item. So that is one reason I posted that poem. It is a sad one for poeple like you and me. And other pet lovers too.

  15. chatou11 says:

    Thank you Yvonne for this beautipul capture and for this beautiful poem. My eyes are brimming with tears!

  16. Andrew says:

    A good choice of poem, Yvonne. It illustrates beautifully our mutual dependence as far as our pets are concerned. The feeling doesn’t end when a pet passes on it just morphs into something else, a treasure chest of happy memories.

    The sky is most striking – much richer in its tones than I see here. Worth the short outing to preserve it for us to enjoy.

    • Andrew, you always find such lovely words. Clearly you write very well. I agree with you. It is a mutual or commone dependence with our pets. Thanks for the comment and the the words about the sky. Those skies don’t happen very often, at least where I live.

    • Thank you Rexlin. The sky that evening was so pretty. I managed to get my son who happened to be at my house that evening, to go to the lake with me. It is about 5 minutes away from my house. I could see the colors of the sky but needed a place to set up my camera where there were no utility lines and poles to mar the pictures. Had it been earlier in the day I would have gone by myself for it is set up in an open area as a hile and bike trail at the dam.

  17. All too familiar, this beautiful poem. Thank you. Paulette

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

