Rodent (sore) Ulcer of Cat’s Lip and Mouth

 

Photos were taken 2011

slideshow

  
 Meri is now about 13 years old. Her exact age is just a guess since she was found by a wonderful lover of animals. Meri was hit by a car and was found  lying in the gutter next to the curb. She was in a coma due to head trauma and her recovery was long and difficult. Meri’s story, I think, is interesting and heart touching. Meri is one of my favorite cats. Her little buddy is not far behind, as one of my favorites, also.
 
Meri has been my cat since 2001 and was blind when I agreed to give her a home. She came to me with her younger buddy, a little brown female tabby named Baby. These two cats were and continue  as  good friends.
 
About a year ago I noted that Meri’s upper lip was swelling. I took her to the vet and told antibiotics would take care of the problem. The sore place grew in size and at its worse stage bled several times. I switched her to soft food and began giving her steroid injections which only seemed to make her sick.  She sneezed and had a runny nose so the dexamethasone was discontinued.  It caused her immune system to weaken ( apparently). I then was told to start her on another antibiotic which for a time seemed to reduce the ulcer in size. In the meantime I read about lip ulcers in cats and according to literature it appeared that several things could be causing the problem. 
  
In the spring of this year I was able to look in her mouth and saw that a front canine nearest the ulcer was broken. I then decided that maybe part of her problem was bad teeth especially a broken tooth which was rubbing on the inside of her upper lip. My vet pulled the chipped tooth and cleaned the rest of her teeth. Per dental protocol dogs and cats are given on an antibiotic following invasive dental procedures. Lots of  various kinds of bacteria are unleashed and the toxins migrate to vital organs via the blood vessels. 
 
I decided to use clindamycin injectable (it kills anaerobes bacteria) and I also gave her Benadryl  sub cu each time I gave the clindamycin. These meds were given for about 2 weeks. I also decided to switch her food to Purina EN (it did not smell like a dead cow) and the nuggets were small.) I began bathing her in Betadine scrub which kills ear mites.  That was followed by KetoHex which is an antiseptic and antifungal shampoo that my daughter had ordered for me. After about 3 baths, the Purina EN, and the round of clindamycin and benadryl, the swelling of the upper lip began to recede. 
 
I am  convinced that the combination of these treatments and medications helped  her lip and mouth to heal. 
 
The common non medical name for this condition was called rodent ulcer many many years ago. According to history, people of long ago believed the cat acquired an ulcer from eating rodents. Hence the name rodent ulcer. The actual name is eosinophilic granuloma but I call it, the monster from hell.
 
Meri as of this year looks even better. In the slide show pics she still has a bit of crud on her chin and a small amount of nasal discharge. Presently she has been doing very well.
Post and photographs  Yvonne
  
  
 
  
   
  
   

   

Tagged , , , ,

44 thoughts on “Rodent (sore) Ulcer of Cat’s Lip and Mouth

  1. Park Park says:

    I cured my cats naturally of mouth sores and this also works for other illness :
    – rub 2% foodgrade Lugol’s Iodine on the infected area twice a day for one week then once a day with a Q-tip
    – add 3 drops of food grade Lugol’s in a small bowl of water daily
    – sprinkle half cap 200mcg 1X a week in a large amount of dry food-
    – sprinkle some psyllium husk powder once a week on food
    – DE on food daily for 2 months then 2X a week
    – Cod Liver oil by Nordic Naturals
    – clean cats teeth with olive oiled Q-tip
    – Weruva Cat food
    – Do not vaccinate pets- vaccines cause cancer

    • That’s impressive and I might try Lugol’s at some point. My cat needed a tooth extracted to help heal the ulcer. Lugol’s would not have have cured a tooth that was rubbing the gums and lip of the cat. Thanks for the info. I welcome new ideas.

  2. chatou11 says:

    Have a nice day Yvonne
    friendly yours

  3. fgassette says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  4. exiledprospero says:

    I’m so glad that Meri has recovered. Eosinophilic granuloma sounds like an auto immune disease i.e. an elevated white blood cell count. Is that right?.

    • Yes, you are correct. The cells actually turn on them selves and set up an inflammation which creates the granuloma. Once the source of the irritation was removed and she was on treatments that rid the infection and food and vitamins to improve the immune system, Meri was on the road to being her self again. Granuloma is a thing from hell. So hideaous. Some vets have no idea what to do for it. I had the antibiotic that my vet daughter orders for me and then she told me what/how to give. My vet ordered it but I did not trust his calculation of how much clindamycin to give. She calculated it for me based on Meri’s weight. I use my vet here to more or less to diagnose and my daughter oders meds for me or ships some from her supply. I would not be able to have all these pets if I did not have a supply of meds As it is, I still must get some meds locally for I can not wait to get shipments from her.

      • exiledprospero says:

        I have read your entire explanation and I thank you for all the wonderful things you do.

      • Holding your daughter in my thoughts that she does get better. Wishing you, your family, including fury kids, all the best for the Holiday Season. Paulette

        • Gee whiz! you are too kind with your words. Prospero, I think that just about everybody has a weakness and mine jsut happens to be cats and dogs. I have wished that I had been born differently and that I were someonme else. People ask what I get out of my animals. How do yo answer that question? Of course I could be living a lavish lifesyle; drive a Mercedes or BMW, or a new SUV but I prefer to spend my money on the animals that I have given a home. They repay me ten fold- I jsut hope I my retirment check continues to be enough to keep them in good food and vet care.

          Regards,
          Yvonne

        • Thank you so much Paulette. I appreciate that you are keeping my daughter in your thoughts. She has been ill for 8 months and still can not work. Too sick with dizziness and fatigue. It is has been a hellish rocky road.

          I hope your holidays are restful and wonderful. Thank you again.

          Regards,
          Yvonne

  5. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

  6. chatou11 says:

    I didn’t even know this desease was existing. Poor little Meri, she looks pretty good now, you did the right things.
    chayou

    • Thank you for taking a look around on my blog. Meri looks even better now. I need to get some pics of her soon. She is such a sweet cat.One of the best that you could ever find. I love her very much.

  7. sweetmarie says:

    I so enjoy all your wonderful animal stories. You have such a loving heart!

  8. So glad I found this site and a huge thanks for being an incredible fury parent. Being an animal rescue person (hubby & I have been rescuing dogs for 28 yrs) it always warms me to meet another great animal lover. Impressive that you took her on when she was blind and really hung in there to find out what was going on with her lip. Big cyber hug. Paulette

    • Thank you, Paulette. How did you find my blog? I am alwyas curious to know and often tell people how I found their blog (usually seeing a name on a comment and then I click on that name)? It is nice to know/meet via blogland a fellow animal rescuer such as yourself. I will check your blog out later today of tonite. I am way behind today because I have piddled around too much. Thanks again for the nice comment. It is much appreciated.

      • My pleasure!

        I received a notice that someone followed my site. I then went to their site and that took me off on a trail of reading and looking at wonderful places. In fact, I lost my place and landed at your page because I love pets and the title made me curious. I was immediately interested, being an animal rescue person and in the medical profession. I learned something new here today and look at that with gratitude because you never know when it’ll come in handy. I was so impressed with the care you took and how you went to the effort to describe and post the photos. But, to answer your question, I can’t remember the road which lead me here. All I can say is I’m glad I arrived.

        • That sounds about like me getting lost and then winding up on another site and another. I have no idea how I found some of my favorite sites.

          There are more posts about medical issues under cat diseases and dog diseases. My blog is sort of messy in that some of the posts do not have the photos to go with them that were there when I was blogging on my daughter’s web site. When the web master moved my posts to my own blog the photos did not “follow” as they should. I am slowly correcting posts and then re-attaching the photos.

          We have nursing in common but you have much more education than I ever thought about or wanted to acquire. I’m a diploma nursing school graduate from many years ago. I was a psych RN for a total of 35 years with VA. I don’t have the nurse part in my ABOUT because I just don’t want that generally known. Some of the stories are about what my daughter did to save the life of the animals that became her pets. One of my daughter’s dogs came from a puppy mill and it is under the Vet’s Pets “Saving Annie.”

          I am so glad that you “got lost.”

          Regards,
          Yvonne

  9. pixilated2 says:

    I always wondered why the vet gave you antibiotics when dental work was done on your pets! I think I would have freaked if one of my kitties got this sick. I know far less than I should about kitty illnesses, and it is really hard to find a good vet. Thank you for visiting and commenting this morning. I’m going to stick around and learn more from you!
    ~Lynda

    • Thank for visiting Lynda. I hope that through my own experiences with my pets and my daughter’s knowledge that I can help others learn a bit. I’ve had pets for so many years and mine have had all sort of things. I write to make people more aware of some of the diseases, etc. I have my own vet and my daughter’s knowledge as a referece guide plus what I know as a result of happened with my pets.

      And, I can readily identify with you about vets. My daughter does not live near me so I sometimes ask her over the phone if I am in doubt. It is hard to find a good vet. And I will write about that at some point. I have a good one now but only for the last 6 months.

  10. I think it starts with a p, what you are when you eat fish. I wish I ha d started younger. We are lacto-vegetarian, meaning we eat dairy but no eggs. And for almost two weeks now I’ve given up bread, just to see if it makes any difference. But the wheat and gluten still slips in in things you wouldn’t suspect. I don’t know if just a tiny bit here and there will make that much difference. We also do our best to eat mostly organic. That is so great about your daughter being vegetarian for so long.

    • Thanks for the reply, Jeri. Are you nixing bread because of the wheat or because you think wheat or gluten is affecting your health? I’ve been the veggie thing with fish for about 4 years and before that I would eat poultry about 2-3 times per week. I was working then and felt I needed the extra protein. But now I don’t think I’m getting enough protein and the protein powder gives me horrible indigestion and heart burn. My daughter told me to get a B12 level because hypothyroid disease can decrease level of folic acid in the body. Organic is great- I am glad you can do that.

      I am allergic to cane sugar and high fructose corn syrup. I use only local honey. Rarely eat a cookie or a piece of candy. Eating sugar makes me feel horrible. Honey is absorbed in the body differently or maybe it’s because it is all natural and not processed.

      If you like you can email me at the address that shows up. I will get it. I have been in two touch by email with two other bloggers-just a couple of emails that we did not want seen on the websites. After I get your reply to this I will erase most of my comment and I can edit yours if you choose to anwer me here. Just say if you want any or all of your reply to be edited or erased.

      Regards,
      yvonne

  11. Yuck, I have a dental trip next week. I’m glad Meri is better. I’m glad to meet another vegetarian!

    • Thanks Jeri for the comment. I suppose it is you that has the dental coming up. You’ll be glad that went to the dentist. Gotta save your pearly whites.
      My daughter the vet, is also vegetarian and became one at about 19-20 years of age. She is mid-forties now and has stuck to it. Both of use eat fish now and then and I know there is a name for that- but I’m not sure what we are supposed to be called. We don’t eat anything that is “hoofed or feathered.” I suppose then if we eat fish that we are not true veggies. We eat eggs but don’t use dairy products. The more I write the greater need I have to look up if we are really vegetarian.

  12. Andrew says:

    Still a very pretty cat, Yvonne. They are most fortunate that you have such knowledge to help your pets recover from their problems. Your knowledge and compassion run deep.

  13. Just Rod says:

    Yvonne, you are such a caring person with such empathy for animals. It is lovely to read the stories. These are some lucky felines!

  14. Margie says:

    We had a long haired cat with dental issues. It was a relief when the vet suggested an antibiotic injection instead of pills.

    • Yes, doesn’t that make a huge difference? I can not afford dentals on all my cats so my daughter orders clindamycin for me at he cost , I take my cat to the vet to confirm exact weight and if the cat can get by with just the antibiotics. Many times the answer is yes, they can get by using the injectable. Trying to pill a cat for 10-14 days only gets harder unless one happens to have a very mild mannered cat.

      Thanks for the comment Margie.

  15. Lottie Nevin says:

    Oh my gosh, you are just the loveliest, kindest person. I’m not sure I could have dealt with that, but then again I’ve had to do some pretty invasive things with animals when I had my farm so maybe, just maybe I could. How many pets do you have Yvonne? you must be kept very busy looking after them all but I bet they love you to bits.

    Just the very name ‘rodent’ ulcer gives me the heeby jeebies….I’m terrified of rats and there is one living in our kitchen in Bali..

    • Thanks for the reply Lottie. I thought that the two of you had left on your trip by now. But maybe you are using your phone to conect to wordpress.

      The medical term of the cat’s mouth thing is called (eosinophilic granuloma) which sounds a whole lot better than the title of the post. Some vets just tell the pet owner that it is a rodent ulcer. I did not have to touch my cats’ mouth. I just gave her meds by injection and then had to ask my vet to do a dental because I believed the chipped tooth was casuing the problem and I it was. Then followed up with injectable Clindamycin which is used for infections in the mouth of cats and dogs. This is an excellent antibiotic and one that is also used for humans.

      You will have to write about your time on the farm. That had to have been a circus but maybe not.

      I sent the expat Brit from Hong Hong (Andrew H.) over to you. He wrote the long comment on your post “Frightfully British.”

      I like his posts a lot. He comes across as a very nice person. I gave him names of other brits that I subscribe to and some that are on Flickr whose photography I admire.

      Please have a safe trip.

      Regards,
      Yvonne

      • Lottie Nevin says:

        Thanks Yvonne – yes, I sent that message to you from the airport in Jakarta and I’m now writing this to you from the Philippines whilst I’m waiting for my next flight on to Hawaii – think of them as little postcards to you! It was lovely of you to give Andrew my name – he’s got a great sense of humour and I loved his comment it made me giggle a lot! 🙂

        • Oh, so I figured right- that you are en route. I want my daughter to begin reading your blog. I think she will like it a lot. I told her at Thanksgiving, as much about you, that I knew at the time. We concluded together that your husband was probably a prof or something along those lines. I hope that I have that correct. I probably would have known that if I had read all your stories but I just have not gotten past about 5-6, if that many.

          This blogging thing and my pets keeps me quite occupied. I try to make meaningful comments on those posts of the bloggers that I really like. Some of the people that I subscribe to are young and some don’t have many commenters so I try to offer my (old) support to those individuals. Of course some people don’t need any help such as your self but when I like the blogger and what they post or write then I want to let then know. I am sure you have noted- brevity is not my forte.

          You probably have not read much of Andrew’s blog but he and his wife are headed to Anartica for christmas. Not sure if they are going via NatGeo ship or how. He did not write about that part but I know of no other ship that takes passengers there. He has travelled all over the word in his work. Very interesting guy. I too like his sense of humor.

  16. Interesting post. What a nasty infection.

    • Yes, it was a devil for many months when the vet that I formerly used did not see the chipped tooth as a problem. He was my vet for 30 years and I finally had my fill back in the summer of this year. BUt he did the dental work on Meri when I asked him to please perform a dental on my poor cat.

      I had to do some shopping to find a competent vet. I used about 4-5 different ones until I found one that is smart and caring. I just hope that he does not retire before I die or most of my pets are gone to the great beyond.

      My daughter can not help me much- she is 120 miles away but she helps out by ordering meds, supplies, and calls in certain meds with a script for something that needs to be compounded. She also orders the majority of the RX diets that I use on some of the cats and my son’s borde collie (I have her in my care now for past 5 months) who is now about 14 years old.

      • The infections that occur as a result of dental issues are tough. We have had to deal with them with 2 of our goldens. They both turned out okay, but are lucky to have a very good vet. We now have a couple of very old dogs so I understand the difficulties with these sweet oldtimers.

        • Thanks for the comment. If you keep your dog’s mouths really clean with yearly dentals your dogs are more likely to live 2-3 years longer. The bad teeth causes the bactria to spread to the kidneys or heart and that is often what causes a dog to have a shortned life span. When the dentals are done you want to make sure that the vet prescribes an antibiotic that kills aneorobe sp? bacteria. These are the bacteria that usually live in the deep pockets of an animals decayed teeth and or gums. also make sure that the vet draws blood to run lab test (BUN) which is a test for the kidneys. If there is a kidnye infectiopm then the dog/cat can be given and antibiotic for that as well.

          You wrote that you have a good vet. That is great that you do. Good vets are hard to come by just like good doctors for humans.

        • I know what you mean. I have a good vet, but not a doctor. I had to fire the last one.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

