Cat Quotes, Observations

Elkie mauled by pit bull. Saved from euthanasia by Dr. D.

Boogie: arrived at our home as a feral tom. Boogie became very docile after he was neutered. Now he is a dapper dude in his tuxedo.

Gregory arrived at our home about 4 years ago. Semi-feral, very thin, fur was matted. He is now a handsome gentleman.

Some of my favorite quotes and my observations of cats:

“There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats.” — By Albert Schweitzer

There is nothing better, when feeling down and out than to listen to some calming music while petting  a cat that is sitting in my lap,  with another cat perched on the arm of my recliner and one more cat draped around my shoulders. This is the epitome of relaxation which allows me to forget about my worries for awhile.

“Cats are rather delicate creatures and are subject to a good many ailments, but I have never heard of one who suffers from insomnia.” — By Joseph Wood Krutch

Well, one thing is for sure. Mr Krutch hit the nail on the head. As I watch my cats sleep,  I’m so envious. They literally sleep about 16 to 20 hours- give or take an hour or so according to age. The older cats sleep until time to eat, groom, and go to the bathroom.. If only humans were able to sleep so easily with seemingly not a care in this troubled world!

“I had been told that the training procedure was difficult. It’s not. Mine had me trained in two days.” — By Bill Dana

Cats are intelligent beings. Mine let me know when they are hungry. One cat sits in a chair at the table and watches my every move as I attempt to eat breakfast. One cat touches my arm and looks into my eyes (never make eye contact with a cat unless you want to find yourself surrendering to that look of “feed me now.”) Shooing the cat away only causes guilty feelings so after I have taken several bites of my breakfast, I get up and feed my cats. After I feed the cats I still feel guilty because I did not place their needs before mine. So, definitely cats actually know how to train the dummy that “lives with them.”

“For me, one of the pleasures of a cat’s company is their devotion to bodily comfort.” — By Compton McKenzi, Sr.

I’ve had a cat/s in my life since I was a toddler (and other animals as well). And it never fails to amaze me how my cats seek the warmest, sunniest, or softest, pile of clean laundry on the kitchen table. One or two will settle in for a nap after picking the perfect site. The cats just seem to exude contentment with their furry self tucked into a ball. If a cat or two decides to nap on the clean laundry, I often find myself their servant, for I simply do not possess the will to move them- they just seem so content and happy in that particular spot.

Post and photographs: Yvonne

.

Betsie was caught as a feral kitten by a wealthy lady. She asked my vet to euthanize her after learning that the kitten had ringworm. “I can’t bring that into my home. My vet asked me to take Betsie. I spent $200 to rid her of ringworm.

Tagged , ,

34 thoughts on “Cat Quotes, Observations

  1. Wonderful wonderful quotes for something so important to a great many people. most I have never seen before and was thrilled to discover. Thank you Yvonne.

    • Rick, I’m glad that you liked reading the simple cat quotes. Those quotes still apply to my life. My dogs are company but the cats are comforting and soothing.Thanks so much for taking time to comment.

      • The same is true for my cat and I too Yvonne. They are so amazing, smart and caring aren’t they.

        • Absolutely, I agree with you that cats are very smart. I think their intelligence is just not as obvious as dogs.

          I was very pleased to have a man comment on something in the cat section. My husband was very fond of some of our cats and he had favorites. My son has 3 three cats and my daughter has had up to 6 at one time.

          We are a cat family but love our dogs very much. However, I find that I’m partial to my cats. 🙂

  2. Office Diva says:

    As more of a dog person, I bow to your wisdom and knowledge about the felines. I think Boogie’s tuxedo is quite swanky…..I love his fluffy glamor shot! It was very sweet of you to rescue little Betsie when someone with great means to do so passed. Again, I believe that all of your pets have come to you at the right place and at the right time to bring you joy and happiness, and sometimes healing.

    If you haven’t already come across it, there is a book out about the healing power of dogs called “Paws & Effect” by Sharon Sakson. It’s one of those books that makes you cry when you see the profound stories about dogs and their owners, and the deepening relationship when the owner is ill. Good stuff.

    • All righty then or wee-doggy, I am so glad that you have taken time out of what I assume to be a busy Saturday to have a look and to comment. Actaully I suppose that “hounding me about my hounds was a good thing for I think your barking sort of got the ball rolling for me again. I was up very late putting this measley post together. I am very slow and posting is laborious for me since I want it to be perfect and of course it never is what I would like.

      But Yes, I feel a certain relief and now know that I must abstain from coffee except decaf and no more Benadryl. I think those two things plus lots of worry about Mz Lisa had put a huge strain on my heart. Some things I simply must turn loose and leave her health and mine to the Gods of the universe.

      Go to the category “Just Dogs.” almost all the dog photos of the labs are in current post so there might be one -two that you will not have seen here. You can also look under humor to see the dogs play fighting. There are a few pics of some of my other rescue dogs.

    • Wee-doggy again. Thank you for the book title. That is a must have for me. Glad you like Boogie. He is a handsome dude. And a very sweet cat. And Betsy- well she is the best. Hence the name. 🙂

  3. Ralph says:

    Hi Yvonne. I love your cats and the way that you have looked after them.
    I only wish that I lived next door and could see them for real, also to help you with your dashboard problems. Ralph x

    • Thank you, Ralph. I wish you lived nearby too. But blogs and emails work for me. If you ever have a cat question just ask. I am not an authority on cats and dogs but I’ve had pets with all sorts of things. My daughter that is ill now is also a resource sometimes.But I feel certain that you most likey know as much about cats as I. From your words on your blog and the posts that you come up with, I can see that you are one sharp man.

      I will throw this in quickly. I have become sort of a blogging friend with people that live in Great Britian or are from Great Britian. I have found these three individuals to offer to help and have given this dummy instruction on how to go about “fixing” my blog. I have not done anything yet- I just have not had the motivation to work at it right now. I appreciate the desire to help if we were neighbors.

      Yvonne X

  4. Big cats, small cats, in between cats………they are such intriguing animals.

  5. milkayphoto says:

    It is an honor to meet another kind-hearted person, one who also believes that animals deserve nothing but love and the best level of care from us humans. There is nothing I wouldn’t do for an animal – domestic or wild – and my heart breaks for any suffering creature. I have nursed field mice, chipmunks, birds, and rabbits and have caressed several as they lay dying in my hands, tears streaming down my cheeks when I simply couldn’t do enough for them (fortunately, more often they survive and are returned back to the wild). I have rescued many from tormentors and predators, giving them a chance to have the life they deserve. Our cat, Cleo, is a rescue and she lives like a princess! I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Take care and God bless.

    Tracy

    • Tracy, thank you so much for taking the time to look around my blog. I appreciate your comment and I too, like finding a kindred soul who loves animals as much as I do. I enjoyed reading about the animals that you have rescued over the years. I bet some of those stories would be worthy of some posts via your blog.

      I found your name via Steve Gingold’s blog. I enjoy his comments on my blog. (in fact he commented on this post about his rescued beagles) I looked at his last post of a New England scene and then I began reading comments from other people. I saw your icon and thought that you would be a blogger whose posts I would like to read or view. I just kept reading and reading and it was a logical choice for me to subscribe. Your photography is wonderful and I am happy that you commented.

      Here’s wishing you happy holidays.

      Best regards,
      Yvonne

  6. So glad you stopped by so I could find your blog. We have an 11 year-old manx cat who loves dogs. When she was about 6 months old she was mauled when approaching some dogs who did not like cats. The person who found her (the owner of the mauling dogs) took her to the local vet. Our vet clinic called,me, they knew I was looking for a manx. I paid her bill and brought her home. Surprisingly, she still likes dogs. We call her our little black dog as she often lays by the fire with our golden retrievers.

    • I know you are glad that you took the cat. Manx are so sweet and I have 2. Bobbi is about 13 years old now and she is still playful even though she is puny from being hyperthyroid and on meds twice daily to suppress the thyroid production. It is strange that cats seemingly have no fear of dogs but I think maybe they know which dog/s are safe to be around but maybe not. You shoud take some pics if the cat with the dogs, if you haven’t and post those on your blog but maybe you have done that already. I have not had time to look around your blog and I have not had time for your husband’s either. But I aim to do that soon, I hope. I keep a list of bloggers that I like (in a notebook) and then I go back and read some of them when I have the time.

      Thanks for commenting Mary.

      Regards,
      Yvonne

      • Our Manx have always been small, no health issues, though. They hunt a lot, I think it keeps them lean. Raven is only 6 pounds. Our other kitty, Delilah (markings like a seal point Siamese, not Manx) is 7 lbs nearing 15 years old. She loves the old dog the same age, the rest she can do without.
        I will have to blog about Precious at some point. She was legendary. Had her for 20 years, never met a dog that did not fear her.
        I am looking forward to exploring your blog some more as well.
        -Mary

        • It is good to know that you are a cat and dog person the same as I. You are fortunate that your cats have/are living long lives. I think it would be interesting to your readers if you write about your pets. I really like pet stories but then I am biased.

  7. sweetmarie says:

    Hi Yvonne, I always enjoy your posts! These are some beautiful cats. 🙂
    Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    • Marie, thank you for having a look and for the compliment. I have to agree. I think most of my cats are pretty good looking. The cat named Elkie is my daughter’s cat. The owners that brought Elkie to the clinic where mhy daughter worked opted to euthanize Elkie instead of payig to surgically patch her up after she was mauled by a pit bull. My daughter asked them to sign right of ownership over to her. So Lisa and another vet sewed her up, gave her antibiotics, and IV fluids. Elkieturned into a very good sweet cat and shows no fear of dogs at all. I find that strange.

  8. All of our animals are outside animals. We live on a farm. We actually have 12 cats at this time. Two dogs (both labs). My favorite cat is no longer with us. We named him Buddha. I think I have the story about him on my blog. I drew two pictures of my favorite cat now, White Mocha. I need to try to draw a picture of Buddha. We certainly took enough pictures of him to go by.

    • I will look forward to some drawings of your cats and more of your dogs. How in the world do the cats survive the predators lurking in the woods? I can not let any of my cats out even where I live. I just don’t want to keep a pet unless I can keep it safe.

      Have you thought about putting your drawings into a book? even a children’s book? It would be good with your wonderful ability to make a picture with so much expression.

  9. TexWisGirl says:

    such beautiful and intelligent beings. 🙂

  10. Yes, nice post indeed Yvonne. All enjoyable quotes that can mostly apply to dogs as well which are my pet of choice also having lived with them most of my life. My beagles have always been good companions through good and bad times.
    You have several lovely cats which are very fortunate that you have such a big and welcoming heart.

    • Thank you for the comment. Yes, these apply to dogs as well. If you click on animal humor you will find a cutesy thing about a dog’s life and a cat’s life. It is very true of how a dog views things as opposed to a cat’s view.

      I just happen to like both species. Always have since I was very young. I have dogs also that I love very much. They are all rescues. I know your beagles give you lots of joy. They are a wonderful breed. Happy and likeable and true to their owner. The dogs that I have, I happened to find them as throw aways and two that I saved from euthanasia at kill shelters. Two showed up on my property. That is how all our dogs came to be our pets in one way or the other.

      • Two of my beagles have been rescues. The first was dumped in a neighborhood where some friends lived. Cassie was a sweetheart and I’ll never forget her…my first love. 🙂 She used to clean her face as a cat would.
        Our second was a hunting castoff. Dixie had great nose but liked to run in circles which doesn’t help the rabbit hunter much. He told us she liked to sleep in her crate and have her teeth brushed. Both falsehoods. But Mary Beth and I loved having her sleep between us.
        Murphy came from Bones (Beagles of New England States) and he had a rough start…crying all night but he is now totally attached and loving…an absolute sweet affectionate little guy….with us. No strangers allowed or he will bite them with his 7 remaining teeth. He has always ground his teeth in nervousness (we are certain that he was beaten and still believes it might happen again) and lost all but a couple. He can still leave his mark. 🙂

        I think it is wonderful that you are saving these dogs and cats from euthanasia. Sometimes the decisions people make about throwing away these lives is bewildering.

        • So now you have Murphy and I’m not sure if you still have one named Dixie as you wrote of her in the past tense. I like the names you have given to your dogs, both past and present. I tend to name all my dogs and cats with a name that ends in (ie) or ends in (y). I just like how the name sounds. You really like beagles and I am happy to know that almost all of your dogs were rescues. In the end it does not matter if the pet you own is a rescue or not. The important thing is that you love and take good care of them.

          It just happened that my dogs and cats have all been rescued with the exception of maybe 2 that I got from my parents farm when our two children were very small. My daughter is a veterinarian in Austin and I have written about most of her rescues. If you look in the category called the The Vet’s Pets you can read about those if you care to. I wrote those for her, in first person since she did not want to write. They are pretty good. I don’t consider myself to be a writer- I just put down information and my writing skills are just plain Jane.

          Thanks for the note about your doggies. I like reading other people’s stories of their pets.

          Regards,
          Yvonne

  11. Andrew says:

    Elkie is gorgeous, Yvonne. I love this post and the Bill Dana quote is brilliant. My late brother adored cats – they always kept Siamese in the home – such haughty creatures. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Thank you Andrew. Your comment made my day or rather my night. (it is now almost 2am CST). I am glad that this post brought back memories of your brother and his cats. I am so glad that you liked this one. You saw the good pic of Elkie and after that I edited a few words and then when I inserted a slide show the dang thing went haywire. I fiddled and fiddled with deleting and inserting over and over until I was sick of the whole mess. I was mad as “a wet hen.” Anyway, at some point I will repost all of those pics for they are some of my better ones where the color was actually corect.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

