Just Dog Photos

Puppy:  Border Collie x Australian shepherd  (my favorite dog.) A rescue also.

Rocket 10/2011

                                                                                     

Dancer Smiling as she waits for a cart ride

Dancer is “smiling” in this photo. She is one one smart cookie and is an excellent watchdog. She is a rescue from a Ft. Worth, Texas kill shelter. Dancer was rescued day prior to being euthanized. I will never be able to fathom how people can be so callous, selfish, and cruel toward an animal that will love you as no other being can.

                                                                                                                                             

Mixed breed (mutt)

                                      Gweenie was my dog for about 2 years. When my sister’s dog died, Gwenie went to live with my sister. 

Australian cattle dog

                                        Zoey was put over the fence into my yard as a puppy. She is an  EXCELLENT guard dog. Loves to play.        

Muddy holding a stick in his paws

                                           I found Muddy as a puppy  at 12mn on a cold night.  Please excuse the poor crop. (But I’ll leave it here.)

30 thoughts on “Just Dog Photos

  1. Kathy says:

    Some very sweet dog photos indeed! Each of them with unique precious personalities, I know… Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. lexiesnana says:

    I loved your dog pictures and I think that you are very lucky to be able to keep all of your animals.

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    Yvonne, what a wonderful kind lady you are. Your dogs all look so happy and content. They must keep you very busy. I was so sad to have to leave our dachshunds behind when we moved to Indonesia, but they have a lovely new home and I know that they are much loved which is the most important thing.
    Cruelty to animals is unforgiveable. You would be quite shocked if you could see the state of some of the poor dogs that hang around the streets in Bali. It’s quite heartbreaking.

    • Thank yoU Lottie for your kind comment. You are a person I know that would never give up her dogs unless they went to a caring and loving home. Good for you. Yes, my animals keep me hopping sometime and I have put lots and lots of money into keeping them. Most people in their right minds would never spend money in the way that I have. But you see, I don’t care to travel, wear fancy clothes, or drive the latest high dollar vehicle. I just have this affinity for dogs and cats. You asked me why I could not survive in that culture. The truth of the matter is that I know that treatment of dogs and cats is bad in the some if not all eastern countries as well as on the large islands such as where you are now. The International Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals has been working in Thialand. Laos, or one of those places to help rebuild a shelter that was destroyed by flooding. I am sorry I might have the country wrong. There is total disregard for dogs and cats by lower members of society. And perhaps middle class if that class of people exists. And I also know that things are bad on the islands such as the one you are on. But, the people all seem so dang happy and that is mind boggling to me. You are fortunate that you and your husband are privileged to travel to so many places. It certainly broadens ones horizons and is an education that you can not get from a book, movie, or someone telling you their personal adventures.

      I am so glad that I found your blog. I find it entertaining and educational. You write with such ease as it seems all the British writers do that I found via WordPress.

  4. Love the ears on the first pup – I’d have tipped my hat to you too (as a Texan) if I’d known, so I do now….lol!

    • Thank you for commenting on my favorite dog named Puppy. He is extremely smart. Wish that I had had more time to train him more tricks. Anyhow, I did not expect a tip of the hat from you. The bloggers on Blogger or Google + ? more or less have your own group going just as it seems to be on WordPress. It sort of gets to be a clique and I have always said that I hate cliques. I have atempted to vary my subscriptions so that I am not favoring x, y, or z. I’ve got a bit of everything.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting on the dog photos.

      • Madge says:

        I’m a follower of blogs on Blogger, Blogspot, and WordPress with a scattering elsewhere.. You asked if I carry mace, and the answer is no, I don’t carry a gun either. I am very careful but do not let myself become paralyzed by fear, which is easy to do. I try to listen to my intuition and leave a place if I feel uneasy… I also try to make sure that I always have a way out. I do travel to remote places alone and enjoy myself a lot.

        • Thank you for taking the time to answer my concerns for safety. I am glad that you are not afraid. I believe that you also have good intuition because it shows in your choices of subjects to photograph. You are probably safer where you live than I am where I live. The town I live in has a high crime rate for the size and locality. It is centrally located with lots of meth labs, cocaine, etc.

          I had no idea how to get the music to play on your site. Where is the magic button?

  5. sweetmarie says:

    As you know, I love puppy dogs and animals. 🙂 Your pups are adorable and I would love to hug them all!!! You and I have a lot in common with the pups. 🙂
    Happy Saturday!

  6. shoreacres says:

    As the saying goes, there are cat people and dog people, and I happen to be a cat person. But my goodness – these are some wonderful stories, and wonderful dogs. I’m especially taken with Gweenie. From what I’m told, mixed breeds tend to have wonderful personalities. She certainly looks like an intelligent, affectionate dog.

    • Did you look through my site and find the pampered cats? I just did a post with some of my cat photos. I love both cats and dogs and my daughter is the same way. And, we both say that we are partial to our cats. They are catered to and petted more often and get to sleep on our beds. Its good to know that you like animals.

    • I did not see all of your comment in the notification section. So, I’ll address Gweenie.
      Gweenie was my dog for about 2 years. I loved her as I did my other dogs but clearly she needed to be an only dog. When my sister’s dog died, (he was a rescue from the streets by me, also) I gave Gweenie to my sister. Yes, Gweenie is quite intelligent. From her appearance, she looks to be pug (thick chested with skinnier back) and the pointed ears look to be chihuahua. Of course other dogs have pointed ears but I am going by her size. However, she is taller than a pug so perhaps other breeds are part of her ancestry.

      Thank you for having a look and commenting.

  7. Such lovely furry family members you have!! Big hugs to all of you.

  8. TexWisGirl says:

    i love pups of any kind, but these are smart, loving dogs, for sure.

  9. They are cute… Muddy is so cute!!

    • Rexlin, thanks for commenting. Muddy is a tall lab- not short and chunky like some are. There are two types: British and the other is the American vesion. I should do a post about how the types differ. Of all those photos, Muddy is the cutest. He is looking at me so intently and he really was holding the stick between his paws. I have other pics of him playing with the stick which I’ll post someday.

  10. pretty dog gone good photos too

    • Thank you for stopping by and leaving a nice comment that is DOG GONE CLEVER. (I thought that was Texas slang)- glad to know others use it as well. I will click over to your blog later today.

      • wonderful hope to get a comment from you

        • Absolutely. I read where you comment if someone comments or subscribes you pay them back. I do the same. I had lots of pet chores today and did not have the time to comment. I subscribe to some blogs and I comment on every single post that person puts out. I get a like once in a blue moon. But once I subscribe to you then I will keep on commenting. However, I subscribed to a fella’s blog and the comments are 200+ and it is very frustrating not to have the comment section handy. So I unscribed even though I love his site. Then after I nixed his site he subscribes to me. Guess I will get busy and subscribe back. I’ll just settle for like because I do not have the time nor the patience to scrowl through multiple pages and comments in order to find LEAVE A COMMENT. Thanks for visiting.

        • lol i also like to click the like button better i go down the reader of my follows and click like on the posts i like when i have time

        • Oh, that is a great tip. But some of the bloggers have so many posts I can not possibly get around to all of them. I would like to spend lots of time on the internet but my animals must be taken care of. I wish I could say I am a privileged person with little to do but I am not. I do most of my own work for and with my animals. I look forward to going back over your blog and I will try to get to the bottom of it but it will take lots of time to get it done.

        • i like to do 1 to 2 posts a day but i usually only have time for one a day scheduled posts and peek into the reader every so often

  11. Andrew says:

    Saving dogs from euthanasia is a wonderful act but I expect very costly over the years. If they repay you in love and/or utility it’s a big bonus. I like Rocket.

    • Well, I’ve only saved two from euthanasia and the others were found as throw away puppies and one that was bordering on abuse. Yes, my passion for dogs and cats would have taken me around the world many times over. But they make me happy and as you say they know they were rescued and all are very good dogs in one way or the other.

      I’ll do a post on Rocket who went to doggie heaven in June of this year. He was 13 1/2 years old. (I could not get the info about him to look right on the screen. Have no idea why it would not stay as I typed it over and over and finally gave up.) I kept Rocket alive for almost a year after he was diagnosed with renal failure. He was a rescue of sorts and I’ll write a short version of that sometime. I wrote about him in Herding Dogs of Texas but the story is too long. He was my dog for 7 years. I loved that dog and I miss him. He was always on the electric cart beside me, anytime or anywhere I went on this property. I think he loved the cart more than he loved me. (Just kidding.)

      Last thing about a death of my pets. I have them cremated- keep locks of their hair but not the ashes. They are scattered in the fields of the cremmatory. Some ashes I will keep in the future of certain pets.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

