I Call These Mellow Yellow (slideshow)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It seems that lots of native plants in my yard that flower in the fall tend to be yellow. I titled this post Mellow Yellow and I suppose you could say the colors are sort of mellow. I thought it had a good ring for a title. You know one that you speak and it sort of rolls off your tongue because it rhymes.  All of what you see here, I either dug from the wild, bought at a nursery, or the birds carried the seed.  The blossoms on the fall bloomers tend to last about 6 weeks or more.  Some plants, of which I know not the name just keep on blooming- sort of like the Ever Ready bunny. The photo of the  China berry tree is lousy. The  light was not good and I don't use photo shop except for to edit to black and white or sepia. I included a few butterfly pics. I do not know the names of these little jewels. I am sorry. Too lazy to look them up.

Tagged , , , ,

21 thoughts on “I Call These Mellow Yellow (slideshow)

  1. exiledprospero says:

    Beautiful, Yvonne. Not only do you take lovely pictures, you also have the skill to display them in a slideshow. Yellow is a very uplifting color and an anidote to the dull, grey days of winter.

  2. Two nights with hard frost ended our blooming colors. So, I sure enjoyed your slide show.

    • Thanks for commenting. Those slides are not the best. But are so-so. Honestly, I do not think I could take such cold weather as you endure.Today in central Texas people are in shirt sleaves. I see a few butterflies out. None, however, that I could find on the plants. These were small yellow ones and a few that had some red markings. I am not good on butterflies. When I was young I concentrated on birds and plants but I have forgotten some of the plant names.

      • I have enough heavy insulated camo clothes for winter. I don’t stay home unless it’s below 0. . At least there’s no snakes or ticks out in the winter. I like to see nature in all types of weather, the different seasons and different times of day.

  3. Linda Royal says:

    Beautiful pictures! I didn’t know we could grow Esperanza in this area. I guess Waco is just south enough.

    • Linda, thanks for commenting. I grow mine where it is fairly protected and I put lots of mulch around the root system. It freezes back and then begins finally sending out some shoots sometime in May. You can buy small ones that are cheap or a large one for about 12-15 dollars. I think Lowe’s, Home Depot and just about all nurseries around here sell them. It grows pretty fast and blooms the first summer. More sun produces more blooms. That plant in the pic is about 4 years old.

  4. TexWisGirl says:

    i have a hard time distinguishing between the yellow ‘daisy-shaped’ bloomers. they are pretty, though.

    • Thank you for commenting. The more I look at these photos the more I hate this set. Yes, all those daisy shaped flowers look the same but leaves and overall shape of the plant helps identify them. I just do not remember the names of two of them.

  5. Andrew says:

    The sunflowers are brilliant and the title fits perfectly. I can hear Donovan in my head now 🙂

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    I think Mellow Yellow is a perfect title for these absolutely stunning photographs. I’m seriously in awe of you for being able to do a slide show – no honestly, I’m not kidding. It’s a great idea. I need to get a bit more experimental I think! Lottie 🙂

    • Lottie you flatter so nicely. These photos are not very good. I still do not have photos that were taken this fall in the proper folders. Hence these are not so hot as far as pics go. If you should want- I think I can simplify how to do the photos in slides. I got so aggravated with the d— slide thing. I actually raised my blood pressure. No joke. I used to post pics really well but when I struck out to have my my own blog, wordpress had changed in the few months that I was not posting.

      • Lottie Nevin says:

        I’m not flattering you. Your photos are excellent and you should be very proud of them. I know all about the blood pressure thing! hah you should see the state that I get into when I cannot get things to work as I should like. Temper tantrums, shrieking! not a pretty sight. I still have a long, long way to go with technology and computers and I find my ignorance infuriating! 🙂

        • I think your photography skills are very good. I admire your travels with all of the wonderful scenes that you have captured. ( I do not travel nor do I wish to travel)

          I am the same way about wordpress. It is frustrating because I want a custom header and I am afraid to switch over for fear that I will mess something up.

          I discovered a canadian guy’s blog http://reflectionsinpuddles.com/. Look at the comments about “When the Problen Becomes a Problem” on my blog. He said he bought a book called “WordPress, the Missing Manual.” He wrote that the book had been helpful (I think). Apparently wordpress thinks they have all the bases covered but things are drastically lacking. So unless you are one of those people that grew up with a computer, then the directions are too complicated. By the way Just Rod’s blog is really good.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

