So You Think You Want A Labrador Retriever (Click image to enlarge)

The lab in this pic is Muddy (as in muddy paws). Muddy is now 4-5  years old . He is the product of some callous, cruel, uncouth, coward, ass-butt, who chose to dump him in the middle of winter at the hospital where I worked. I was the last person on my shift to leave the building one very cold and misty night. As I walked toward my SUV, I  saw what looked like a small animal sitting in the middle of the parking lot. With a few more steps I could see that it was puppy. I walked toward the puppy and he greeted me with a wag of his tail. I bent down to take a closer look and he returned my gaze and then sat down at my feet. The puppy had no collar and was rather thin. I walked toward my vehicle and coaxed him to follow me. Clearly this was not a lost puppy. There just was no way that a puppy of this size could leave home, make it across a very busy 4 lane street and on to the vast grounds of a government installation and keep going quite a distance past the entrance gate to the building where I worked. I believe that someone knew me or of me and believed that I would TAKE THE PUPPY.

I took him to my vet the next day.  Upon seeing the pup Dr. M. immediately said, “Oh, this dog belongs to someone. This is a chocolate lab and no one is going to discard a puppy that looks this good.” I told Dr. M. that I could not disagree more! I said, “people throw away purebred dogs all the time. And cats too. I know he does not have a microchip. You can scan all day long and there AINT NO MICROCHIP.” And of course I was right. There was no microchip!

I named him Muddy- it was a name that came to mind from out of the blue.  Really!  There is a blues singer who plays the guitar named Muddy Waters who has been on the music scene for a very long time. I remember him from  my teenage years. I have no idea how I happened to think of the name.  

Muddy grew by leaps and bounds. He has a congenial temperment and a surplus of energy. He and my border collie and Aussie cross became pals and chase each other or roll in the grass or dirt when ever I allow my dogs access to my one acre property. He also is good with the other dogs and doesn’t chase the cats.  He has one huge fault but I work around it. Food aggression is a big problem. The food thing began suddenly and I have no idea what triggered his excessive and hostile desire to protect his food from any dog that merely walks past as he is eating. At feeding time I put Muddy in the back yard and close the gate. As soon as he has eaten, I immediately pick up his dish which I place in a bucket of soapy water. This way he no longer has a bowl to guard.  Each dog must have finished eating before any of them are allowed in the smaller fenced yard that cconnects to the house.span>

To say that Muddy is a good dog is an understatement. He comes when I call, sits, and goes in what ever direction that I point;. He is loyal and thrives on affection.  That is really not a long list of attributes BUT he is a watch and guard dog. Labrador dogs love to fetch and retrieve just about anything that they can cram into their mouths. The odd thing about Muddy is that he is not interested in fetching and he is not a fan of water. Despite being such a big dog Muddy can clear the ground by about 3 feet or so. Now that does not say much but this is an eighty eight pounder and I have yet to figure out how such a gawky looing dog can be such an agile jumper. He can jump up and turn around before touching the ground. He is huge and the largest dog that I have ever owned in my long life. One other negative about the labrador retriever. These dogs shed more hair than any dog that I have been around. In the morning when I let them out of their crate the floor on the outside of the crates is covered in dog hair.

So there you have my take on the lab. I can see why these dogs continue to be, year after year, the number one dog registered with the American  Kennel club.

 

Muddy: Anticipating a game of chase

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “So You Think You Want A Labrador Retriever (Click image to enlarge)

  1. HOW could anyone just leave a puppy (or any pet really) like that! It’s just unbelievably cruel and selfish. I’m so glad Muddy got a good home with you!! He seems lovely ❤

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    He sure is gorgeous and lucky that he found you 🙂

    • Thank you. I’ve been trying to sort of write his story since about noon today. I think I am finally finished after so many interruptions this afternoon. It is now 3:56pm CDT and I am going to make a fast run to the “butterfly patch” before it gets much later.

  3. TexWisGirl says:

    i love them SO much. have a big black lab male now. had my ‘marigold’ – a yellow lab that was russet/gold color for 14 years. adored her.

    • I am glad to get your comment. These are my first labs- both found as puppies- Muddy I found at the hospital where I worked x 35 years and Molly found by an apartment dweller that is next to my property.(Woman could not find anyone to take a 3 month old puppy and “the grounds keeper knew that I had (DOGS). Muddy and Molly were put out when it was very cold. January and February.

      I am glad you have another lab. Is your lab a found or pound dog? These are wonderful dogs and are watchful as well.

      About this post: I was working on it last night and deleted a long story about finding Muddy as a pup. I added one photo and I thought that I saved the whole shabang as a draft. I did not intend to post 2 dog pics with nothing to say about what great dogs labs are or can be. (Dogs only as good as their owners) I think!!!

      So, I have to get busy and write. I think I need to edit Muddy’s pic, as well. It looks washed out, etc. So I hope that your comment remains after I try to put this in draft and if not I’ll change the post date to November.

      I appreciate everytime that you comment.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

