Notable Quotes About Dogs and Cats (Click photos to enlarge)

More photos at the bottom of the quotes. Please click to enlarge photographs.

Marley  watching the cats

Muddy     Posing for the camera

Rocket loved this cart. My border collie died June, 2012. Lived to be 13 and 1/2 years old.

I’ve read many quotes about cats and dogs or animals in general. It is really difficult to just pick a few. When this web site was fairly new, I posted a few and added my thoughts about some of them.  I think I like this batch even more. I scoured the web for any quotes that mentioned animals, dogs, or cats. Some of these quotes hit the nail on the head and some are down right funny. I think that no truer words were spoken.   I feel these quotes are profound, thought provoking, or just plain witty.

“We can judge the heart of a man by his treatment of animals.”   By Immanuel Kent

“A dog is the only thing on earth that will love you more than you love yourself.”     By Josh Billings

“Don’t accept your dog’s admiration as conclusive evidence that you are wonderful.”   By Ann Landers

“To err is human, to forgive is canine.”    Anonymous

“A dog has lots of friends because he wags his tail and not his tongue.”     Anonymous

“If having a soul means being able to feel love, and loyalty, and gratitude, then animals are better off than a lot of humans.”    By James Herriot

“The average dog is nicer than the average person.”    By Andy Rooney

“You want a friend in Washington? Get a dog.”    By Harry S. Truman

“If you pick up a starving dog and make him prosperous, he not will not bite you. This is the principle difference between a dog and a man.”     By Mark Twain

“I never married because there was no need. I have three pets at home, which answer the same purpose as a husband. I have a dog that growls in the morning, a parrot which swears all afternoon, and a cat that comes home late at night.”      By Marie Corelli

“We’re staying together for the sake of the cats.”      Bumper Sticker

“We can judge the heart of a man by his treatment of animals.”     By Immanual Kan

More dog pics at the bottom of this post

Post and photographs: Yvonne

So happy! Spots in a blur.

Annie loves any ball

Sepia photo. Puppy standing in a pile of sand

19 thoughts on “Notable Quotes About Dogs and Cats (Click photos to enlarge)

  1. frizztext says:

    “We can judge the heart of a man
    by his treatment of animals.”
    – Immanuel KANT

    • Thank you Frizz for looking around and reading some of the posts. I am in agreement with you about Kant’s outlook on life. He was quite astute in his observations. I am quite fond of his quote about the heart of a man.

      ~yvonne~

  2. You write so lovingly about all the pets that have touched and enriched your life. As for myself, I have had three dogs. Coco was my first dog. She was a brown mutt and an absolute joy to be around, but I was merely a boy then, and could not fully appreciate the impact she would have on me, that she would somehow impart in me the lifelong desire to want to share life with a dog. She lived, gloriously, to the age of sixteen. Then there was Mousse, a white terrier mix. It was with her that I realized just how deep the bond could be. I was devastated when she died. She was fourteen years old at the time. Finally, there was Angelina. I still find it difficult to write about her. Angie was just a tiny little thing. And a wild thing too. She didn’t like to be touched by anyone except me. Since she was so beautiful, everyone wanted to touch her–and she would soon set them straight, never biting (she was far too courteous for that!), but making such a ruckus that people got the message that while you can look, I advise you not to touch! But to look at–she was stunning. In town she would literally stop the traffic: people, from their vehicles, often wanted to take a closer look… and her power as enchantress did not limit itself to motorists: children (of course, children), the elderly, men, women, the affluent, the downtrodden–she brought an instant smile to all faces. Even the dourest mien would suddenly transform into incontrovertible brightness. She went everywhere with me–the bank, restaurants, department stores… everywhere.

    I know that Angie is irreplaceable–but I can also see what I am doing: I’m getting another small dog, precisely four pounds, a papillon… I guess it’s the best way for me to honor my
    precious Angelina. I feel that I need that kind of continuity.

    Sincerely,

    Prospero

  3. I immediately went back to another dog I had seen during my long hours at the computer. This was a two year old papillon (also four pounds), but not a rescue–she was so small that the owner did not want to breed her. Instead, she wanted to place her in a good home, as a pet. Angelina had come from Britain. This was convenient since Britain is a ‘rabies free’ country and the rules of importation are far less onerous. But from the U.S.A., I needed rabies certificates from a vet. The owner had given the dog the first rabies shot herself at three months, so that didn’t count. She received a second rabies shot in March of this year. That one was given by a vet and is admissible.

    But, I need two certificates. The dog just got a shot, so I have the second certificate, but there is an additional stipulation: there is a minimum wait period of thirty days after the last rabies shot. That period will be up in the second week of November. That’s what I’m waiting for now.

  4. You are touching many people with your delicate caring, Yvonne. This is a wonderful thing.

    Let me start with the most recent events as these are less emotionally charged and thus easier to discuss. A few weeks ago my dad sent me a link to a papillon puppy that was available for sale. I had a look. Later that evening we discussed it, and that led to a two hour marathon on the internet in search of the perfect puppy! I was pleased with myself since I was able to do this somewhat dispassionately–both my parents had been instrumental in helping me come to terms with my grief, so I could hardly rebuff this posturing. I thought I was simply being polite by looking at various puppy sites–I really didn’t think I was ready for another dog. But on the next day, the idea soon took root. I could think of nothing else. I suppose that I could not admit to myself that I absolutely needed another dog–it took a little gentle prodding from elsewhere.

    I searched and I searched. Finally I found what I was looking for–a four pound papillon at a shelter in Oregon: there was something special about her and I felt it immediately. So I
    made the phone call. I learned that she was four years old and that her owner, an eighty year old woman, had passed away, and no one in that family could take the little one. Needless to say, this was traumatic for the sweet girl. And somehow the idea of a rescue appealed to me. Wouldn’t the act of saving a tiny, needful creature be the best way to overcome my grief? Yes. It was on a Sunday and the lady at the shelter sent me a video of the dog playing with her favorite donut toy. It was all decided; I had a new dog. But on Monday I received a call from the shelter. The lady had discussed the case with the shelter’s board, and it was decided that a local adoption would be in the animal’s best interest: there is no direct flight from Oregon to Bermuda–the travel arrangements were a complicated affair (at least three connections), and they didn’t want to put the dog through that. I was very disappointed, yet I respected their judgment.

    • I was so excited as I read your note/s re: finding the little dog and then not being able to get her after all because of the compliacted travel. I could just see how you would slather that dear little dog with love and devotion I find it very sad and cruel that a family member often does not want to take a departed relative’s pet. I have yet to figure this out.

      But I have to agree with the board’s decision- all of those flights would be simply too much for that tiny dog to endure and she probably would not have made it to you alive. On the other hand it is too bad there was not anyone that you know or who was willing to take a flight with her as a carry on. Small dogs can fly in the cabin. Oh how I wish that you could have given that special little girl a home.

      But on to the other news. I am very glad that you made the decision to get another papillon. The 2 year old female will surely remind you of Angie but she also will bring you much joy and some peace of mind. I have no idea if you are a loner or an extrovert. Either way, this little dog will provide joy and bring some life into your home again.

      I have a two questions? Has the little dog been spayed? This is a must. The longer a female goes without being spayed, the greater chances of mammary tumor. If she has not been spayed and you have access to a decent veterinarian, please be sure that she is spayed after she has sufficient time to recoup and to acclimate a bit to her new environment.

      And, how will she be traveling on the plane? Try your hardest to find someone (a touurist?) coming to your island who will be willing to tuck her into a little travel bag and then she can fly in the cabin and not in the cargo hold. I do not want to put a damper on getting this little dog. I just want to make sure that she is safe. Stay in frequent communication with whoever is the responsible person that is allowing you to adopt her. I am not sure but some airlines will fly pets inside (without a person to accompanmy them)? A tourist from the states or a friend who is coming to your island could possibly bring her.

      Well, that is enough of my meddling. Please keep me updated on your welfare and the little papillon. I liked the stories of the three dogs prior to Angie. You really are a dog person.

      Regards,
      Yvonne

      • Actually, my intention was to fly to Oregon, pick the dog up myself, and fly her back to Bermuda, in the cabin, with me. The board deemed that even this was too much as it would have entailed three connections and many hours of transit.

        The other dog is accustomed to flying as she has been to many dog shows. She is in Montana. The owner will fly her to JFK (two flights totalling 6 hours) and I will pick her up there, in person. The next day, after a good rest, we will fly back to Bermuda (she’ll be in the cabin with me) .

        As per my contract with the owner, she needed to be she spayed. This was done about three weeks ago while still in Montana. Thank you for voicing all of your apprehensions. I would have preferred it if she’d been spayed earlier (she will be two in January), but I will try to adddress the cancer issue by providing her with a good, anti-cancer diet.

        Prospero

        (Thank you again for all of your concerns)

        • Thank you. All of that is wonderful news about your new little butterfly dog. I imagine that she is going to be a very pretty dog but I am sure she will never equal little Angie. You have thought of everything and I am very glad that you will be getting her personally from JFK. The exchange between former owner and new owner, I think is appropiate. It will be a gentle hand-off and the little dog should not suffer much in the transition. Since she is a former dog show girl, I believe she will be just fine. She has been around other dogs her entire life and soon she will be number one in the household.

          Also, I think, as you mentioned that she will be fine with a really high quality diet plus vitamins.
          I can not wait to hear about your first meeting with her.

          Regards,
          Yvonne
          9/18/12 Thursday 5:50pm CST PS: I think the clock on my computer is not set properly and I need to see the web master.
          I am too stupid (really) to set it properly)

  5. To Rexlin Victor: Thank you for taking the time to look at some of the posts and for liking them as well. I appreciate every like and comment even though I do not always acknowledge all of the likes. I try to single out the newest people who click on the like button.

  6. Great quotes and pictures! Greetings to you and your furry friends 🙂

  7. Northern Narratives says:

    Wonderful post and comments.

  8. Yvonne, I am overwhelmed by your compassion.

    I will share my thoughts with you, but still need a little time to unscramble some raw emotions. For now, let me simply say that your responses have been very helpful. Your observations about grief reverberate deeply.

    • Thank you for the reply. I truly hope that in some small way that I have helped you understand your feelings. In some way even though this might not be a proper suggestion, try to find solace in knowing that she had a wonderful and loving life during her 14 years with you. I believe that our pets know how much we love them and when she took her last breath I am sure she still knew how much you loved her and would miss her. I believe that the spirit of a much loved pet lives on and as I wrote in that little poem for my daughter of her cat Athena, “I am following you now, with foot steps that you can not hear.”

      Bless you sir. I believe you to be a very kind and gentle soul. Write as you feel the need. Do not feel compelled to answer each reply that I make although it is nice to read your comments and thoughts.

      Yvonne

  9. A few other thoughts about Rocket. He loved my little electric cart. Rocket was on that cart every time that I drove it about my property. Some days it is hard to look at the cart and not see him sitting there. I cry as I write this but I know that I did every thing that I could to extend his life. I have many photos of him and one of them is my favorite. There is a story about Rocket- I can not think at this time which category the story is in. When I find it I will repost the rather long story. He was a dog that was being given away because his owners said, “we can not take him to live at our new home that is on the edge of a golf course.” He was seven years old when I took him to be my pet.

    Yvonne

  10. In reply to exiledprospero:

    I will try to answer your question now. As many of my former pets aged and I knew that their time with me was limited, I began my grieving process. Sometimes just looking at them as they lay sleeping or moving about the house or the property brought tears to my eyes. I did all that I could for the cat or dog to make him or her as happy and as comfortable as I could. I was lucky with almost all of my pets. By that I mean they each lived a fairly long life but a few were not so lucky to live past 12-14 years. I have always thought that if a dog makes it to 13, 14, or even 15 years of age, that is a nice achievement. I have had dogs and cats as part of my life since I was a toddler many years ago. Some of my pets met an early demise through accidents or by getting out of the house (my husband was careless and once I was the culprit) These deaths I have never fully accepted and to this day I grieve about them. The cats that got away or that were killed on this very property by a vehicle while I was at work- these I can not get over but I go on because I have other pets that I love and must take care for.

    In the context of pet or human grief, we all grieve in different ways. Some times I am very sad when I think of my beloved Monkey, Fritzie, Felix, Petey, Bentley, Weena, or Lady. All of these pets met an untimely demise and it has been years but I still cry for them at times when I am alone. When Rocket had to be “put down” I could see the time nearing and yes, I cried that week-end knowing that when Monday morning came that I would have to make that trip with him. I cried all the way there and back home. (He was cremated) You always remember the eyes, but for Rocket-he was in misery and his kidneys had “played out” so there was nothing left to do but to end his misery. My other dogs helped ease his loss, for they demanded my attention and my affection.

    Having other pets around has helped me get over the loss of the old ones that have died. As I wrote above, I still cry about those that died way too young. But the grief has not crippled me in the way that the loss of a pet does for some people.

    When your little dog died, I am fairly certain that you felt a part of you died as well. Your grief might last a long time for she was your only pet. None the less, do not feel that you must explain to anyone why you are sad or that you still grieve. It has not been that long since she left your side. I have looked at your little dog’s picture and yes, truly she was a beautiful dog.

    Now all that is left of her are the pictures and the memories and more times than not, these things are not enough to sustain you through the dark and lonely days of not having that little heart beat to hear or feel. I understand your grief. I can not feel your grief. Only you can. My heart goes out to you.

    My own daughter is much like me in her extreme feelings for a dog or a cat. She put away all of the pics that I took of Athena and will hardly speak of her.

    Sometimes it helps to talk about your feelings to someone who has experienced the same kind of loss. Here in the states there are groups that meet re: pet grief. But honestly I have never wanted any part of expressing my grief in a group.

    You kind sir, will get beyond your grief. Try not to fight it and accept your feelings as they are. I would suggest another pet but only you will know when the time is right for you to shower another furry creature with your love.

    Take care. Feel free to write your thoughts on my blog as a comment if you feel the need.

    Best regards,
    Yvonne

    Please excuse typos, spelling, and other errors.

  11. What lovely photographs. What lovely dogs.

    Yvonne, I’m truly sorry about Rocket. Now I understand why you were able to find Angelina on my pages. You are dealing with the same emotions that I am. Do you find it helps to have other dogs when one passes away? Angie was my only pet and I’m having great difficulty in dealing with things.

    One of my favorite quotes is from Edith Wharton:

    My little dog – a heartbeat at my feet.

    It’s exactly how I feel. And now, it’s the little heartbeat that is missing…

    • I want to reply to you in depth and must eat something- ate an apple on the run today. There were many things to accomplish.

      I want to answer your question/s in the best way that I possibly can. Later this evening or tonight I will send you my thoughts about pet loss. I am so sorry that your loss of Angie is so painful.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

