Fall Bloomers and Butterflies (click photos to enlarge)

Fall is my favorite time of the year despite the frequent temperature changes in central Texas.

Butterfly species: Common Buckeye

Butterfly species: Tawny Emperor  )

There is a profusion of blooms in the wild garden that attracts the butterflies, bees, wasps, and beetles.  Most of the butterflies have had their fill and are gone by about 4:30pm so I must shoot when the light is not exactly ideal. So, I grab my canon with its 18-200mm kit lens, a tripod, and climb on my little electric cart and head on down to the lower part of the property where I let things grow just about as mother nature intends.

All of the native plants I dug myself many years ago from a patch of prairie that was doomed to a bulldozer and a huge Ford new car lot. There was not a soul to be found that would buy the property to be maintained in its un-touched glory. The prairie had never been tilled and was virgin land for eons. What a shame that even a university known for its research department in biology and ecology would not put up the money to preserve this beautiful prairie. It would have made a wonderful laboratory for the profs and students. I collected what I could:  seeds/plants and some of the grasses-  I dug before the bulldozers wrecked havoc.  I hoped and prayed that Nature Conservancy would somehow deem the prairie worth saving but even that huge non-profit organization declined to get invloved. I think politics played a huge role. Now the land is home to a huge building, a large expanse of concrete, and Ford motor vehicles.

Butterly species:  Queen  feasting on the luscious frostweed

A Queen butterfly feeding on frostweed

Some of the wild garden rampant with blooms

Frostweed- a butterfly magnet. Heavy blooms caused some plants to fall to the gound

Close up of Maximillian sunflower

Maximillian sunflower                                                                                                                                         .

Post and photographs: Yvonne

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Fall Bloomers and Butterflies (click photos to enlarge)

  1. TexWisGirl says:

    hi there. thank you for commenting on my ‘painted butterfly’ drawing. 🙂

    the first butterfly is a Common Buckeye (i drew one of those and gave it away a few months ago). the second is an emperor butterfly – i think maybe a tawny emperor. the one you’ve got labeled as a monarch is actually a queen butterfly. 🙂 and the only reason i know any of them is i use several texas butterfly i.d. websites. i happened to notice carla’s comment above. 🙂

    here’s one if you’re interested: http://www.thebutterflysite.com/texas-butterflies.shtml

    • Thank you for taking time to visit my site and to set me straight about the names of the butterflies. I am so embarrassed that I have the others mislabled. I thought for sure they were monarchs. I had looked at some sites this summer but I had no luck finding the right one. The sites that I found wanted me to buy a guide and I just will not buy something that I am not sure about. I called my friend and she told me the two that I had not named were 1. Buckeye 2. Hackberry. I did not send her the other pics for I had no idea that these were not monarchs. I will correct these sometime tonight (I hope) when I have finished my evening animal chores, etc. etc.

      Anytime that you see I have something mis-labeled please feel free to jump in and let me know. I know birds- I just never bothered to learn butterflies.

      I really admire your bird, barns, gates, and animal photography. All of your drawings are truly excellent. I have looked at your site for a long time and then finally subscribed a few months ago.

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Your flowers are beautiful 🙂

  3. Carla says:

    Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. I just finished enjoying your beautiful photographs. I don’t know the names of the butterflies, either but if you Google Texas Butterflies I would bet that a lot of photos would come up to help you with that. But even without names they are still Beautiful!!!

    • Thank you for commenting and for the suggestion which I appreciate very much. I will look again in Goggle to see what I can come up with. Maybe I did not look deep enough to find the names.

      I will visit your blog sometime today if not this morning. It is almost noon where I live and I am still looking at blogs to like and to add a comment. We as bloggers, need to support each other and once again- thank you. I hope you will visit my blog often.

  4. I like your blog (and butterflies). Great photos throughout.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

