Trying To Grab A Sunset: Repost (11/2011 Click to enlarge photos

A live oak for added interest

                                                         

A vivid sunset across the lake

Central Texas sunset

Barren tree against a vivid November sky.

Dusk to night just a few minutes away

Note: This was posted November, 2011.  

I have my sights set on capturing sunsets. That is if the clouds and weather will help me out by producing the right atmosphere that makes for a vivid sunset.
Every day is becoming shorter and shorter. There is not much time to get to a place where you know a pretty sunset is putting on a show. The trouble is I never know when a good one is about to happen, that is unless I keep up with the weather forecast.  The sun produces the prettiest colors a day or two prior to rain or a cold front. Of course, the addition of some clouds enhances a sunset making it something other than h0-hum.
 
A couple of weeks ago, I grabbed a leash, put one of my best guard dogs and equipment in the truck, and drove to the lake. This is the only place near me where there are no power lines to obstruct the view.  I can get to the lake in about 3-4 minutes. Since I am a chicken and very paranoid, I never get out of a vehicle to photograph when alone. I also pack a gun.
I edited the pictures in Microsoft Windows which does a fair job. I still don’t know enough about Adobe to create anything other than sepia and black and white. I’m posting these pics with a promise to have some better ones at some point in the future. (I hope) 
     
Post and photographs  Yvonne
  
 
Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Trying To Grab A Sunset: Repost (11/2011 Click to enlarge photos

  1. aj vosse says:

    Sunset chasing can be such fun!! Keep enjoying… just don’t forget to take a camera when you’re packing all the other equipment! 😉

  2. Office Diva says:

    I like the November one the best, with the barren tree. Great contrast and my favorite colors all blended together. Very nice catch. There is something mournful about a sunset, don’t you think?

    • Again, you are so good on your observaations and always manage to sound so sincere in your comments. I apprecaite that. You have picked my favorite sunset in that grouping as well. You are right about a sunset being mournful. The night is quickly approacing and the day is done. I like the dark against the sky. I sure do wish that I could write poetry in these instances.

  3. Sigoese says:

    I like the last photo. It’s fascinating…

    • Oh my. That is very nice to say that you liked the last photo. Your are what I consider to be a top notch photographer. I aspire to get better. I don’t expect to compete with some of you who are clearly pros at what you do. But I must invest in a prime lens for sharper photos. I can not decide which one to get that will give me the most versatility. I would prefer to get a canon prime (have an EOS 60D). I bought my camera from a local photo store and it came with an 18-200mm kit lens.

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

