His-to-plas-mo-sis: Update of Relapse of Josie The Cat 1/28/2012 11:25pm

 

Josie (L) grooming Coley (R)
Josie grooming Bobbie who is loving the the ear wash
Josie (black and white cat) grooming Bobbie

That old saying that patience is virtue seems to ring true for me, many times. Josie became acutely ill almost over night. But for the medication to kick in does not happen overnight. Itraconozole must build up in the blood stream and it takes ABOUT 3-4 WEEKS for that to happen. Simply put, it must reach a certain saturation point before it begins killing the fungus that is primarily wrecking havoc in her lungs and spleen.  

Thankfully, this past week Josie’s breathing became much easier. As of today she does not appear to be laboring to breathe. About mid-week she was on a grooming kick. I watched her groom 2 cats- first washing the little black cat that is in renal failure and then the older Manx cat that had not been doing well for several months. 

Josie really went to town on both cats and I took a few pics as she groomed. The two cats that she groomed seemed to enjoy their “bath.” Rarely have I seen Josie grooming other cats.

Josie grooming the other cats I am taking as a good sign that her health is improving. She remains on Itraconozole 0.8 ml once daily and I generally give her 75-100ml of Ringer’s Lactate subcutaneously once daily.

I place the bag of fluids in a stainless steel bucket in the kitchen sink and let it stand in hot water for about 5 minutes, depending on how much fluid is left in the bag. I test the liquid on my inner arm in the same manner that one checks a baby’s formula for the right temperature. The same IV tubing is left in the bag and the needle changed with a sterile one for each cat that is getting fluids. The same IV tubing can be reused for about a week if I am careful not to contaminate either end of the tubing when it is being changed and inserted into another bag.

I generally have 2-4 animals on sub cu fluids at any given time so I must economize and not be wasteful. I will add here that this kind of economy is not practiced in a hospital or nursing home. Protocol for humans and animals is quite different for some things but also similar in other ways.

Josie is now about 14 years. I am very thankful that she is living a fairly normal life albeit some bumps in the road. To say that I am fond of Josie is putting it mildly. She is a wonderful trooper, easy to medicate, and never mean. Any nurse would be thrilled to have all their human patients as nice as my little cat. 

Post and photographs Yvonne

Tagged , ,

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

