The Fuzzy Dog Being Groomed and More About the Book Sale

 

Wally with his “barber”

It is 2:42 am and I am just now getting around to writing a post for today ,Wednesday. When I arrived at the book sale which was held at the fair grounds, it was 10:15am and cars and trucks were in profusion. As I stood in line waiting to get through the door, a city policeman was stationed at the door and I spoke with him briefly. I said, Gee, I haven’t been to a book sale in 20 years and from the looks of things I should have been here as soon as the door opened. He  replied, “When I got here about 9:45 there were a number of people in sleeping bags and they had spent the entire night out here in the cold. I said, What in the world has made this book sale so popular?” The policeman replied, “well for one thing there are many books and all of them are organized in categories. People have been coming from Arkansas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, etc to stock up on books for their shop or to resell on e-bay and so on.”

By the time I made it to the desk, a white band with the number 308 was placed on my wrist which meant that 307 people were already inside. And believe me, were they ever. People were going through stacks of books with a scanner- I suppose that was to help them locate a particular book.  These individuals, I could tell were the pros, meaning they were there to find books for resale and also hoping to locate a rare edition. The people with scanners used portable carts which really served the purpose. 

I had never been to a book sale of that magnitude. It was great for people watching. I had to ask directions to the pet section and nature section.  I bought about 16 books. No book cost more than $1.50 but most books were at least 15-25 years old or more. Despite the age of the books, all were in very good condition and those I bought, I considered to be worth the money. 

Tagged , ,

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

