Alert: Keep Your Black Cat Safe At Halloween

Coley age 14-15 years

Halloween will soon be here. If you have a black cat and happen to be one who allows your cat/s acccess to the outdoors, I strongly encourage you to go the extra mile, get a litter box and keep your cat confined in the house at least a week (the longer the better) prior to Halloween). Many people do not realize that devil worshippers and other occult individuals steal, pick up or take— what ever you choose to call it- black cats to SACRIFICE on Halloween. Yes, sad to say but these people are all around you and you will never suspect who or where they are. Most animal shelters now do not allow black cats to be adopted during October or at the very least, no adoptions of black cats are done a week  or two prior to Halloween. If a devil worshipper can not get a black cat they sometimes jsut resort to a cat of any color- So please keep your kitties safe. This is not a joke!!!!!  

But back to black cats. I love any cat color but I happen to love my 3 solid back cats a bunch. The little cat in the photograph is very shy most of the time.  She sleeps next to me at night along with several other cats. Coley is sort of a talker. She squeaks as she “talks” looking me directly in the eyes.  I trapped her and her 3 litter mates when they were about 4-5 months old. They were all wilder than March hares- I trapped their mother as well. Everybody was spayed or neutered- whatever the case and vaccinated. They could not be returned to their former stomping grounds so they all became my pets.This little black cat has remained just a bit on the feral  side. I’ve never been able to medicate her by mouth. So I either crush her meds or use an injectable antibiotic .  This past summer Coley had some teeth extracted and the other teeth were cleaned. She needed an antibiotic for a kidney infection (oral Senequin) and also Clindamycin for the anaerobe bacteria in the mouth and gums. I gave sub cu  fluids and the Clindamycin between the shoulder blades once daily x 2 weeks.  I thought I did a good job of disguising the oral medication but she would only take a few bites and that was all she wrote. Also she did not want to eat the prescription diet( Purina NF) so I finally gave up on the oral med and the Rx diet. She was just too “slick” for me. I finished up the injections but she still gets sub cu Ringers’ Lactate about 2-3 times weekly becasue her kidneys are not in good shape. The extra fluids will prolong her life since there is less stress on the kidneys. More about kidney disease in older cats in another post. 

 And back to my original message of this post: KEEP YOUR BACK CAT SAFE AT HALLOWEEN.   

Post and photograph    Yvonne Daniel 

Tagged , ,

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

