Butterflies: Migrating Monarchs (click on image to enlarge)

A few Monarch butterflies began showing up about the third week of September. I saw maybe 10-12 monarchs over a period of about 4 days and since that time I have not seen anymore. I’m sort of worried that maybe this was a bad year for the butterflies and I am hoping that their migration just isn’t in full swing yet. Ordinarily this native wildflower, Frostweed, is covered in Monarchs. And I do mean covered. These beautiful insects absolutely love the Frostweed. It begins unfurling its white blossoms about the second week of September. The blooms last at least 2 months and attracts the honey bees as well. I have a special place in the yard that is splashed with sun for most of the day and it is here that the Frostweed grows up to 5-6 feet tall. After the blooms have opened it falls over to touch the ground. Even though it is no longer majestic, it remains a pretty plant. All that really matters is that it provides nectar for the butterflies and the honey bees.
 
Post and photographs Yvonne Daniel
               
 
 
 

6 thoughts on “Butterflies: Migrating Monarchs (click on image to enlarge)

  1. gita4elamats says:

    They are so beautiful, Yvonne! 🙂 We get a lot of butterflies in the garden but they usually fly away by the time I get my camera. 😦

I enjoy reading and replying to comments

